Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Blog Posts by Subject: Mysteries, Crime, Thrillers

Life in All Its Granite Hardness: A Selection of Irish Noir

Bleak, dark, grimly realistic, morally and psychologically complex with a dash of gallows humor. Scandinavian Noir has some serious competition from its Irish cousin. Check out some Irish crime writers this St. Patrick’s Day weekend.Read More ›

5 Films Noir Inspired by Novels

A review of 5 mystery novels and the films noir that they inspired.Read More ›

10 More Best Books for Teens 2016

The 2016 Best Books for Teens is a great list, but there are books I love that didn’t make the final cut. So to make sure these awesome books get their due, here are 10 fiction books I think should’ve made the list.Read More ›

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans. Read More ›

Hitchcock-ian Reads

It's the birthday of Alfred Hitchcock. To honor the Master of Suspense, our crackerjack team of book experts came up with a list of books that would do him proud: psychological suspense novels that give readers the same creepy, think-y thrill as watching his movies... and feature twists that no one saw coming.Read More ›

Thirteen YA Novels That Will Bend Your Mind

Some of my favorite YA novels are books that challenge me, that pull my brain in different directions, and make me think, “What the hell just happened?”. Sometimes, it’s because the narrators are choosing not to tell us the whole story, or because for some reason they can’t tell us the whole story. Sometimes, it’s because the author writes the story in such a way that it takes readers a while to figure out what’s going on. Here are thirteen YA novels that will take your brain in unexpected directions! Read More ›

Not-So Innocents Abroad: 10 YA Mysteries and Thrillers for the Dog Days of Summer

Novels filled with thrills, action, suspense, murder, romance and all set in exotic and romantic locations around the world—perfect reads for the last days of summer.Read More ›

Dachshunds in Fiction

For dog and dachshund lovers alike, here are some children's and adult books that celebrate this spunky little dog with the big personality.Read More ›

Go, Go, Girl Detectives

Eight to 12 year olds are prime candidates for fun detective stories—and Nancy Drew isn’t the only game in town anymore! So we’ve compiled a list of series starring girl sleuths, for kids of any gender.Read More ›

The Journalist’s Journey

Long-form nonfiction can be a great way to get a behind-the-scenes look at not just the "what" and the "why," but also the "how."Read More ›

What to Read While You're Waiting for 'The Girl on the Train' Movie

The Girl on the Train movie is slated to be released October 7, 2016. As that is still a ways away, here are some novel releases to tide you over.Read More ›

Best Books for Teens 2015: Our Top 10 Favorites!

It’s time for the second annual NYPL Best Books for Teens list! Get ready for the most memorable, the most gut-wrenching, the most exciting, the most fun, the most swoony, the most informative and the most engaging books of the year.Read More ›

Reader's Den November - Hell Hath No Fury: Gone Girl, Medea, and the Allure of the Femme Fatale, Part 2

Both Gone Girl and Medea feature two classic examples of the Femme Fatale archetype. In this installment of the Reader's Den, we will examine the appearance of the vengeful female or femme fatale as portrayed in film. Read More ›

Reader's Den November - Hell Hath No Fury: Gone Girl, Medea, and the Allure of the Femme Fatale, Part 1

This familiar trope plays out in a complex web of nail-biting intrigue in Gillian Flynn's popular mystery novel and screenplay Gone Girl, but this theme of punishing a philandering spouse to the extreme has ancient roots.Read More ›

The Moviegoer: Films That Give You the Heebie-Jeebies

When most people think of horror movies, they usually think of lots of blood and a large body count, but the films that creep me out the most are the ones that mess with your head.Read More ›

10 Comic Book Series to Get You Excited for New York Comic Con

Here are ten new and ongoing comic book series to get you excited for this year's convention.Read More ›

Girl Waits With Gun: A Novel by Amy Stewart

A fictionalization of a fascinating true story about Constance Kopp, one of America's first female deputy sheriffs. Read More ›

Beyond Bond

We asked library staff to investigate Ian Fleming's legacy and go “beyond Bond”—to pick out other books starring secret agents.Read More ›

Trapped! A Booklist For Teens

Imagine being trapped somewhere with little to no chance for escape. Maybe you can’t get out of your school during an intense snowstorm. Maybe you’re locked inside a windowless room. Maybe you’re trapped in a coffin. Maybe you’re stuck in what FEELS like a coffin, but you can’t tell because it’s so dark that you can’t see anything. You can only hear the sound of someone walking back and forth somewhere above you… someone who’s been waiting for you to wake up. Read More ›

Mystery Without End... Literally

Raymond Chandler famously said, “The ideal mystery is one you would read even if the end is missing.” In honor of his birthday this week, we asked our librarian experts to name mysteries they’d read even if there were no endings—books so compelling, with such great characters or such an evocative setting, that the story itself is just a bonus.Read More ›
Page 1 of 7 Next