Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Blogs

Illuminating collections and services at The New York Public Library
Learn more »

Preview this page in our new blog design

It’s Sweater Weather in Our Digital Collections

Leaves are changing color, the air smells crisp and clean, pumpkin spice everything is back in stores, and sweater weather is here at last! If you’re looking for some fashion or knitting inspiration, the Digital Collections delivers some amazing designs from the 19th century.Read More ›

When Indie Books Won Big Fiction Awards

As we enter the award season for books, we're looking back at a few times that literary underdogs won big over the last fifty years. Read More ›

Get Your Creative Juices Flowing at 53rd Street Library

Any good youth services librarian will tell you creativity is a huge part of the day-to-day routine.Read More ›

Celebrating #Bernstein30

Every year since 1988, the New York Public Library has awarded the Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism. This year we will be celebrating the 30th anniversary of the award.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: October 29, 2016

Two newbies take their places on the list this week: a CIA thriller and a family saga about a medical crisis.Read More ›

T.C. Boyle: Where to Begin

This post is part of a series in which Readers Services librarians suggest a good starting place for authors appearing in our LIVE from the NYPL series this fall. Read More ›

Ask the Author: T.C. Boyle

Five questions for T.C. Boyle, who's coming to LIVE from the NYPL on Oct. 26.Read More ›

Podcast #135: Tim Wu on How the Internet Is Not Really Free

For this week's episode of the New York Public Library Podcast, we're proud to present Tim Wu discussing the internet, attention, and the problem with free stuff.Read More ›

Alternative Halloween Reads

if you are tired of the more typical scary classics, check out some alternative options for Halloween reading.Read More ›

Job and Employment Links for the Week of October 23

Please note this page will be revised when more recruitment events for the week of October 23 become available.Read More ›

Henri-Charles Guérard’s Curiosity

Exploring the works of Henri-Charles Guérard and his contribution to the history of art.Read More ›

Where to Start with Ursula K. Le Guin

October 21 marks the birthday of Ursula K. Le Guin, one of the most well-known and popular science fiction and fantasy authors living today.Read More ›

Presidential Campaign Songsters from the Music Division

The Music Division has a rich collection of songsters from 1840 through 1888, particularly from the Republican and Whig parties.Read More ›

NYPL #FridayReads: The Game-Changer Edition October 21, 2016

During the week, it can be tough to stay on top of everything. On Fridays, though, we suggest kicking back to catch up on all the delightful literary reading the internet has to offer. Don’t have the time to hunt for good reads? Never fear. We’ve rounded up the best bookish reading of the week for you.Read More ›

Booktalking "50 Ways to Protect Your Identity and Credit" by Steve Weisman

Common-sense steps that individuals can take to avoid becoming victims of identity theft. Read More ›

7 Books That Will Haunt You Like a Ghost

A list of seven books that will haunt you long after you finish the last line.Read More ›

Election Happenings @ Mid-Manhattan Library!

On Tuesday, November 8, 2016, millions of Americans will head to the polls to elect the next President. Whether this is the first time you’ll cast your ballot, this Presidential election has piqued your interest, The New York Public Library has a robust collection of books, feature films, documentaries, music, and spoken arts just for you. Read More ›

Always: Endearing and Enduring Reads! Harry Potter Read-Alikes

A list of read-alikes for Harry Potter fanatics.Read More ›

Talking with Teens about Bullying, Cyberbullying, and Online Safety

Several weeks ago, I fully intended to have the topic of our Teen Advisory Group meeting be Banned Books Week. But our conversation took a detour, and soon we were talking about bullying and cyberbullying in fiction and in real life. It wasn’t the way I expected the conversation to go, but I’m glad it did.Read More ›

NYPLarcade: International Games Day 2016

Join MyLibraryNYC, NYPLarcade, and TeenLIVE in celebrating the 9th annual International Games Day. This event celebrates play and games at libraries all over the world.Read More ›
Page 1 of 354 Next

Chat with a librarian now