Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Blogs

Illuminating collections and services at The New York Public Library
Learn more »

Preview this page in our new blog design

Alternative Halloween Reads

if you are tired of the more typical scary classics, check out some alternative options for Halloween reading.Read More ›

Job and Employment Links for the Week of October 23

Please note this page will be revised when more recruitment events for the week of October 23 become available.Read More ›

Henri-Charles Guérard’s Curiosity

Exploring the works of Henri-Charles Guérard and his contribution to the history of art.Read More ›

Where to Start with Ursula K. Le Guin

October 21 marks the birthday of Ursula K. Le Guin, one of the most well-known and popular science fiction and fantasy authors living today.Read More ›

Presidential Campaign Songsters from the Music Division

The Music Division has a rich collection of songsters from 1840 through 1888, particularly from the Republican and Whig parties.Read More ›

NYPL #FridayReads: The Game-Changer Edition October 21, 2016

During the week, it can be tough to stay on top of everything. On Fridays, though, we suggest kicking back to catch up on all the delightful literary reading the internet has to offer. Don’t have the time to hunt for good reads? Never fear. We’ve rounded up the best bookish reading of the week for you.Read More ›

Booktalking "50 Ways to Protect Your Identity and Credit" by Steve Weisman

Common-sense steps that individuals can take to avoid becoming victims of identity theft. Read More ›

7 Books That Will Haunt You Like a Ghost

A list of seven books that will haunt you long after you finish the last line.Read More ›

Election Happenings @ Mid-Manhattan Library!

On Tuesday, November 8, 2016, millions of Americans will head to the polls to elect the next President. Whether this is the first time you’ll cast your ballot, this Presidential election has piqued your interest, The New York Public Library has a robust collection of books, feature films, documentaries, music, and spoken arts just for you. Read More ›

Always: Endearing and Enduring Reads! Harry Potter Read-Alikes

A list of read-alikes for Harry Potter fanatics.Read More ›

Talking with Teens about Bullying, Cyberbullying, and Online Safety

Several weeks ago, I fully intended to have the topic of our Teen Advisory Group meeting be Banned Books Week. But our conversation took a detour, and soon we were talking about bullying and cyberbullying in fiction and in real life. It wasn’t the way I expected the conversation to go, but I’m glad it did.Read More ›

NYPLarcade: International Games Day 2016

Join MyLibraryNYC, NYPLarcade, and TeenLIVE in celebrating the 9th annual International Games Day. This event celebrates play and games at libraries all over the world.Read More ›

Ep. 50 "People Forget These Kids Have Dreams" | Library Stories

Inspired by a librarian at the Grand Concourse Library, actress Youmie Francois decided to create a program for area school-age children. Now she's providing lessons in acting, dance, music, 

... Read More ›

NYPL Events: What's Happening 10/17-10/31

Welcome to our biweekly update on events happening during the next two weeks at the Library. With 92 locations across New York City, a lot is happening at The New York Public Library. We're highlighting some of our events—including author talks, free classes, community art shows, performances, concerts, and exhibitions.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: October 22, 2016

Get ready for some nail-biters! It's a suspenseful time of year, with four tense mysteries on the list this week.Read More ›

Free Web Design and Coding Program

If you are 17-24 years old and are interested in web design and coding, the free Web Design and Coding Program may be an opportunity for you.Read More ›

Book Review: "What Made Me Who I Am" by Bernie Swain

Bernie Swain is the founder of Washington Speakers Bureau (WSB), the largest and most respected speakers bureau in the world.Read More ›

The Dorot Jewish Division Invites You: Fall Events

The Dorot Jewish Division of The New York Public Library, one of the world's great collections of Hebraica and Judaica, invites you to join us for the upcoming events this fall. Read More ›

Podcast #134: Margaret Atwood on Shakespeare in the 21st Century and on YouTube

Subscribe on iTunes.

Margaret Atwood is one of the most prolific Canadian writers alive today, working both in prose and poetry. In a career spanning over four decades, Atwood has won the Booker Prize and earned a Guggenheim. She is best known for novels such as 

... Read More ›

Job and Employment Links for the Week of October 16

Find job fairs, workshops, and more.Read More ›
Page 1 of 354 Next

Chat with a librarian now