Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Blogs

Illuminating collections and services at The New York Public Library
Learn more »

Preview this page in our new blog design

New Russian Books, November 2016 | Новые поступления в библиотеку

New Russian books available at Mid-Manhattan Library.Read More ›

Ep. 47 "The Library is a Safe Haven" | Library Stories

Working in the New York City public schools, Terri created a partnership with Aguilar Library to let 8th graders sample library careers. But it wasn't just to provide job skills. Read More ›

Podcast #131: Yanis Varoufakis and Noam Chomsky on Money and The Sickest Joke in the History of Humankind

Yanis Varoufakis is the former finance minister of Greece, an economist, and the author of the book And the Weak Suffer What They Must?: Europe's Crisis and America's Economic Future. Recently, he was joined at LIVE from the NYPL by Noam Chomsky, the prolific linguist, social critic, and political activist. Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: October 2, 2016

Pirates and sheriffs make their way onto the bestseller list this week, with three newcomers in the top five.Read More ›

NACC: Free Job Training for Paralegals

The New American Chamber of Commerce free Paralegal Certificate Course is the cornerstone of NACC, CARE, IJLEF and Figeroux & Associates, and is an educational empowerment project to help members of their community attain job training in legal services.Read More ›

Booktalking "Inexcusable" by Chris Lynch

According to Keir, Gigi misunderstood what happened, did not speak up, or both, and everything was fine.Read More ›

Celebrating Hispanic Heritage!

Discover facts, stories, events, activities, and reading resources.Read More ›

Black Lives Black Motorists

Within our contemporary climate of #BlackLivesMatter, The Green Book guides deserve continued discussion of their value as not only a practical travel resource for their time, but also as a survival guide. Read More ›

Job and Employment Links for the Week of September 25

Career fairs and recruitment events for the week ahead.Read More ›

Resource and Career Fair for Entrepreneurial Performing Artists at SIBL September 30

Hear about the latest programs and services from a cross section of NY metro area entrepreneurial resources to help you with your small business, production, career or artistic endeavor.Read More ›

Found Staten Island Stories 3: Buffalo Bill's Wild West, Mariners' Harbor, 1886 and 1888

This is the third in a series of of posts highlighting some of the fascinating stories from the historical Staten Island newspapers now being digitized and uploaded to the web.  Find out more about this project at 

... Read More ›

NYPL #FridayReads: The Before Game of Thrones Edition September 23, 2016

During the week, it can be tough to stay on top of everything. On Fridays, though, we suggest kicking back to catch up on all the delightful literary reading the internet has to offer. Don’t have the time to hunt for good reads? Never fear. We’ve rounded up the best bookish reading of the week for you.Read More ›

Sharing Stories with Regina Ress

Two upcoming programs at Mid-Manhattan featuring master storyteller Regina Ress: Compassion, Generosity and Grace: Stories from 9/11 and Healing Voices-Personal Stories: Films and A Panel Discussion on Domestic Violence.Read More ›

J. Rosamond Johnson and "Lift Every Voice"

The National Museum of African American History & Culture opens on September 24, 2016. The Smithsonian has decided to name the celebration “Lift Every Voice,” borrowing the phrase from the song known as America’s Black National Anthem.Read More ›

10 Great Picture Books about Diverse Children and Families

Here are some picture books that can help children appreciate and understand how people and families can be different, and, at the same time, share the same universal value: love. Read More ›

Fall Staff Picks Have Arrived!

It may not feel like fall here in New York, but our newest round of Staff Picks is ready for the season to begin!Read More ›

Quiz: Which Of These Are Not Stephen King Novels?

Stephen King has published over 50 novels since 1974. How well do you know his extensive list of books? See if you can spot the fake titles in this quiz.Read More ›

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans. Read More ›

Ep. 46 "Reading Is the Greatest Thing in the World" | Library Stories

Getting free help with homework can make a big difference in a child's life.Read More ›

Romantic Interests: Celebrating 30 Years of the Pforzheimer Collection at NYPL

Featuring over a dozen treasures from the Collection, the exhibit includes the manuscript of Percy Bysshe Shelley’s first known extant poem, a lock of Mary Shelley’s hair, and a preliminary design for Lord Byron’s yacht. Read More ›
Page 1 of 350 Next

Chat with a librarian now