Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Blogs

Illuminating collections and services at The New York Public Library
Learn more »

Preview this page in our new blog design

For the Love of Riverdale: Read-a-likes for Your Favorite TV Show

An all-American teen is dead, a small town full of secrets and suspects. What could have happened to a teen with the seemingly perfect life? What secrets were they hiding? Someone better find out the truth before another person turns up dead. If this sounds familiar, you may be a fan of Riverdale. Read More ›

A Manhattanhenge Reading List

Manhattanhenge is coming next week, and we’ve made a reading list to celebrate! Read More ›

Job and Employment Links for the Week of May 28

Find career development workshops, job listings, free job training programs and more.Read More ›

NYPL #FridayReads: The Talk About Vintage Wine Edition May 26, 2017

During the week, it can be tough to stay on top of everything. On Fridays, though, we suggest kicking back to catch up on all the delightful literary reading the internet has to offer. Don’t have the time to hunt for good reads? Never fear. We've rounded up the best bookish reading of the week for you.Read More ›

Some Hope for S.: Suicide Prevention Resources

When a woman handed me a note that she found folded up inside one of our books and said, “I think you’ll want to read this,” I had no idea what to expect. I definitely didn’t expect to read a note that managed to be so simultaneously tragic and uplifting.Read More ›

Dark, Light, & In Between: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 41

We're swinging from heavy, major, important nonfiction to the frothiest and most delightful YA romance this week. Plus: Frank and Gwen make the producer thankful for his upcoming vacation.Read More ›

May 2017 International Fiction Bestsellers

This month we checked out fiction bestsellers in Belgium, Brazil, Finland, Peru, and Taiwan and found a mixture of novels by local authors, translations of international bestsellers, and some poetry.Read More ›

My Favorite Quotes from Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything tells the story of Madeline, a young teen who has a rare condition called Severe Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID). Read More ›

三本小说 || Three Fiction books

最近看了三本小说,文笔简洁,故事紧凑。千丝万缕的情节,娓娓道来,令我爱不释手。 Read More ›

Ep. 75 "I Might Not Ever Get a Shot Again" | Library Stories

Find out how one immigrant helps others learn to read and is going to college, with a boost from The New York Public Library.Read More ›

#ThisPlaceMatters: Preservation Month Resources

May is Preservation Month! I know, there are only a few days left, but you can celebrate Preservation Month all year long with great books and other resources from The New York Public Library.Read More ›

Podcast #165: Jane Mayer, Winner of the Bernstein Award

Is the Trump Administration a dream or a nightmare for the Koch brothers? Are cats more intrinsically valuable than people? Answering many questions about the intricate relationship between money and politics in American life with Jane Mayer, a New Yorker staff writer and author of Dark Money (2017 winner of NYPL's Bernstein Award).Read More ›

Booktalking "Everything, Everything" by Nicola Yoon

All Madeleine has ever known is life inside of her house with her nurse, Carla and her mother. Until Olly moved next door, that is.Read More ›

10 Reasons Teens Love the Mulberry Street Library

In honor of Mulberry's 10th birthday, we asked the teens in our weekly teen lounge why they love the library.Read More ›

Ep. 74 "A Bastion of Fact and Truth" | Library Stories

A journalist and author who won the Library's Bernstein award talks about the importance of supporting fact and evidence. Read More ›

Chinese Book Discussion April 19, 2017 中文书籍讨论会

在上次的部落格中提到希望有人能谈谈张爱玲的小说。果然在4/19 的书籍讨论中便有人介绍了了张爱玲的作品特色,特此感谢。 我们也特别欢迎作家陈九先生,来到我们中间与我们分享他对文学以及中国文化的看法。Read More ›

Lower East Side Story: Beth Hamedrash Hagodol

The Library has a number of items that highlight the development and presence of synagogues in New York City, including at least one photographic collection wherein Beth Hamedrash Hagodol features prominently. This post pays tribute to the building, with a short history, and a view back to better days.Read More ›

What Are You Reading? Computers in Libraries Edition

I presented at the Computers in Libraries conference in Arlington, Virginia this past March, and between sessions I decided to find out what people were reading.Read More ›

Arthur Conan Doyle: Researching Crimes and Detectives with NYPL's E-Resources

By exploring The New York Public Library's Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture database—a digital archive that presents a broad history of crime in the 19th century with over 2 million pages of primary source materials, including manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals—we can begin to understand what might have inspired the most iconic detective books of all time. Read More ›

In Honor of Alexander Pope, Here's 9 Of Our Favorite Fun Poems

 May 21 marks the birthday of Alexander Pope, one of the most famous English poets of the 18th century. The author of The Dunciad and The Rape of the Lock

... Read More ›
Page 1 of 379 Next

Chat with a librarian now

Subscribe to NYPL Blogs RSS Feeds