Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Stuff for the Teen Age

Share

For 80 years, New York Public Library staff shared the best titles for teens in an annual list called Books for the Teen Age. In 2009, Books for the Teen Age became Stuff for the Teen Age, a multimedia, multi-format, targeted, and teen-tested list of the best of the year in teen books, music, graphic novels, movies, games, and more.

In 2010, Stuff for the Teen Age became a blog. We post lists, recommendations, and variety of other topics related to teen books and media.

For the Love of Riverdale: Read-a-likes for Your Favorite TV Show

An all-American teen is dead, a small town full of secrets and suspects. What could have happened to a teen with the seemingly perfect life? What secrets were they hiding? Someone better find out the truth before another person turns up dead. If this sounds familiar, you may be a fan of Riverdale. Read More ›

10 Reasons Teens Love the Mulberry Street Library

In honor of Mulberry's 10th birthday, we asked the teens in our weekly teen lounge why they love the library.Read More ›

My Favorite Quotes From And I Darken By Kiersten White

And I Darken is the first in a new trilogy that tells the tale of Lada and Radu, who are forced to live in the Ottoman Empire after being sold out by their father. Read More ›

Great Graphic Books for Tweens, Teens & Adults to be “Green”

Environmental thinking should go beyond Earth Day. One holiday a year isn't enough time to celebrate the beauty of nature, help improve the planet or find out more about climate change and other environmental issues.Read More ›

Time to Grieve: Books for Children and Families Coping with Death and Dying

These ten suggested novels—fiction and nonfiction—can assist families in starting that conversation, help children sort out their feelings, and ease the grieving process. Read More ›

TeenLIVE: Gene Luen Yang on Comics and Reading Without Walls

Gene Luen Yang is the current National Ambassador for Young People's Literature. We were lucky enough to have him join us for a conversation about comics and his Reading Without Walls challenge.Read More ›

Libraries and Debate : A Match Made in Heaven

President and founder of New York City Urban Debate League and his team of dedicated debate advocates discuss the crucial importance of debate to democracy and the Library's role in supporting young debaters. Read More ›

NYC Teen Author Festival 2017

I love attending the annual NYC Teen Author Festival, and, as usual, this year's program did not disappoint.Read More ›

Binge Watch and Read: Spider-Man #SpiderManHomecoming

Get ready for Spider-Man Homecoming with this list of spider films and graphic novels!Read More ›

“Bad Girls” Challenge the World: Five Biography and Essay Collections for Feminists

Check out this list of books filled with profiles of notable women and an essay compilation on the current multifaceted feminist scene. Read More ›

Some Thoughts on Career Day, and Why I Became a Librarian

Many people who’ve known me for years don’t know that I had several big turning points and life-changing moments when I was young that started me on the path to becoming a librarian. But if you’ve ever seen one of my Career Day presentations, you know all about those turning points, because I always start by sharing those stories.Read More ›

16 Books about Refugees for Kids & Adults

you have to understand, that no one puts their children in a boat unless the water is safer than the land —“Home” by Warsan ShireRead More ›

The Hottest 2017 YA Books, So Far

Looking for a something new to read? Check out these 2017 YA books!Read More ›

Curiouser and Curiouser: The World of Wonderland in YA Fiction

I recently finished reading Heartless by Marissa Meyer, and when I finished the book I didn’t want the story to be over. This novel about how a girl grew up to become the diabolical Red Queen made me want to take a deep dive back into the world of Wonderland. Read More ›

Binge Watch & Read: DC Comics Edition

Looking for your next comic book binge? From Arrow to Supergirl, this list of DC Comics superheroes and their TV shows will help get you through the season.Read More ›

Calling All Writers! Get Published in NYPL!Zine

Are you writer, poet, or artist? Would you like to see your works published? The New York Public Library has an opportunity for you!Read More ›

Top Teen Tearjerkers of 2016

Serving on a book committee can be hard work. One of the most challenging aspects for me of choosing books for the Best Books For Teens list wasn’t all the reading, but all the crying. Seriously, though, there were a LOT of heart-wrenching books for teens this year. Read More ›

10 More Best Books for Teens 2016

The 2016 Best Books for Teens is a great list, but there are books I love that didn’t make the final cut. So to make sure these awesome books get their due, here are 10 fiction books I think should’ve made the list.Read More ›

Introducing the Best Books for Teens 2016

A committee of 20 dedicated librarians read all the young-adult books published in 2016 that we could get our hands on. Then we debated, voted, and came up with our 50 favorite books of the year.Read More ›

Talking with Teens about Bullying, Cyberbullying, and Online Safety

Several weeks ago, I fully intended to have the topic of our Teen Advisory Group meeting be Banned Books Week. But our conversation took a detour, and soon we were talking about bullying and cyberbullying in fiction and in real life. It wasn’t the way I expected the conversation to go, but I’m glad it did.Read More ›
Page 1 of 22 Next

Chat with a librarian now