Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File

Share

Your one-stop shop for blog posts across the Library about books, reading and literature. Subscribe to RSS Feed.

#RainbowReading for Adults: 30 Books for 30 Days of Pride Month 2017

June is Pride month, of course, but it’s also GLBT Book Month! We’re excited to present our favorite LGBTQ+ books each day of June. Read More ›

#RainbowReading for Kids: 30 Books for 30 Days of Pride Month 2017

June isn't just Pride Month, it's also GLBT Book Month -- which means we have an opportunity to talk about some of the coolest, sweetest, most innovative books for kids: literature by, for, and about LGBTQ+ families.Read More ›

Summer Reading Challenge! The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 42

It's time for our second-ever Summer Reading Challenge! In this super short episode Gwen and Frank announce their challenges to each other ahead of time so you can read along with them.Read More ›

Go West, Fair Readers

What makes a “modern Western”? In honor of Larry McMurtry’s birthday, we asked our book experts here at the New York Public Library to answer that question — and to name a book they’d recommend that fit into that category.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New & Notable: Little Gems

There is something special about a 200-250 page book. The story has a tight scope, the writing is often spare and concise, and the experience of reading it is discrete and memorable. Here are a few little gems we recommend. Read More ›

For the Love of Riverdale: Read-a-likes for Your Favorite TV Show

An all-American teen is dead, a small town full of secrets and suspects. What could have happened to a teen with the seemingly perfect life? What secrets were they hiding? Someone better find out the truth before another person turns up dead. If this sounds familiar, you may be a fan of Riverdale. Read More ›

A Manhattanhenge Reading List

Manhattanhenge is coming next week, and we’ve made a reading list to celebrate! Read More ›

Dark, Light, & In Between: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 41

We're swinging from heavy, major, important nonfiction to the frothiest and most delightful YA romance this week. Plus: Frank and Gwen make the producer thankful for his upcoming vacation.Read More ›

May 2017 International Fiction Bestsellers

This month we checked out fiction bestsellers in Belgium, Brazil, Finland, Peru, and Taiwan and found a mixture of novels by local authors, translations of international bestsellers, and some poetry.Read More ›

Attack of the Killer Spelling Bees: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 40

Our annual spelling bee, words we can't pronounce, a trio of music recommendations, and of course what we're reading now. Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New YA for May

Great reads for young adults are blossoming like crazy this spring. Check out some of the reads — fiction, nonfiction, and graphic novels — that our YA librarians are buzzing about. Read More ›

Best Translated French Fiction: Announcing the Albertine Prize Finalists

Aiming to celebrate the best of contemporary French-language literature, Albertine, the bookshop of the Cultural Services of the French Embassy, has revealed the shortlist for the inaugural Albertine Prize, an annual award honoring the author and the translator of one Francophone novel published in the U.S. over the past year.Read More ›

Making Grown Men Cry, Since 2015: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 39

Sweet-sad poems, ghosts of the Village Past, and melancholy post-Victorian tales of ruined childhoods in creeepy cults... But we manage to have a little fun, too.Read More ›

I Won’t Grow Up! Adult Books Featuring the Stubbornly Young

In honor of J.M. Barrie's most famous creation — Peter Pan, the eternally young boy forever living in Neverland — we asked our book experts at The New York Public Library for recommendations of books that have Peter-like characters who simply refuse to grow up.Read More ›

Podcast #163: Janine di Giovanni, Bernstein Award Finalist

Bernstein Award finalist Janine di Giovanni talks about her book, "The Morning They Came For Us: Dispatches from Syria," the story of Syria's civil war as told through the people who have lived through it.Read More ›

Book Expo 2017: Back in NYC!

Book Expo returns to the Javits center this year and runs from from Wednesday, May 31, through Friday, June 2, with the fourth annual Book Con, a consumer-facing, gathering for book fans, happening Saturday, June 3, and Sunday, June 4. Happy to have you home Book Expo.Read More ›

Where to Start with Virginia Woolf

If you're open to trying out Virginia Woolf's writing for the first time, here are some great books to start you off.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New Picture Books

Picture books are delightful for kids of all ages. Here are a few we think are extra-special. Read More ›

Serving the Least Served: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 38

This week, we talk libraries and activism with Cory Eckert, one of the joint chiefs of Storytime Underground! We go in-depth on libraries as non-neutral spaces and how children's librarians stand up for social justice. Plus: recommendations for romance novels and two brand-new picture books.Read More ›

Every Day Is Free Comic Book Day at the Library

A primer on comics and graphic novels! Expand your horizons, and visit your library AND your indie comic shop this Saturday. Read More ›
Previous Page 3 of 55 Next