Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File


Your one-stop shop for blog posts across the Library about books, reading and literature. Subscribe to RSS Feed.

Hot Garbage, Summer in the City: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 19

Humidity can't exist in outer space! Beat the heat by blasting off into orbit with Frank and Gwen's brand-new segment. Plus: Do audiobooks "count" as reading?Read More ›

Books for Boys Who Think Books are Boring

An interview, a book list, and a discussion of author Jason ReynoldsRead More ›

President Obama's 2016 Summer Playlist

Get music from the official @POTUS playlist at the library.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: August 21, 2016

Cozy small towns, private investigators, girls on trains... this week's list has a bit of everything, including a new J Patt thriller debuting in the No. 1 spot.Read More ›

Hitchcock-ian Reads

It's the birthday of Alfred Hitchcock. To honor the Master of Suspense, our crackerjack team of book experts came up with a list of books that would do him proud: psychological suspense novels that give readers the same creepy, think-y thrill as watching his movies... and feature twists that no one saw coming.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New YA

Our Best Books for Teens committee has been busy reading and reviewing 2016 titles. Below are a few of their favorite new comics and graphic novels.Read More ›

A Salute to Goodnight Moon

Here are five more bedtime books that capture winding down, getting those little eyes to close and little ones to drift off to sleep.Read More ›

Books for Fans of Adventure Time and Steven Universe

There are many other books in this vein featuring magic, adventure, and a style that will appeal to fans.Read More ›

Summer in the City: A Reading List from Open Book Night

At our last Open Book Night at Mid-Manhattan Library, we asked readers to share a quintessential summer in the city book, a book that evokes summer in New York or another city or a book that helps them survive summer in the city. Read More ›

16 Harry Potter Readalikes... Because The Cursed Child Is Not Enough

It’s almost impossible to recreate the kind of world-building that J. K. Rowling achieved in her legendary Harry Potter series—which is why Harry Potter readalikes are the holy grail of book recommendations.Read More ›

Not-So Innocents Abroad: 10 YA Mysteries and Thrillers for the Dog Days of Summer

Novels filled with thrills, action, suspense, murder, romance and all set in exotic and romantic locations around the world—perfect reads for the last days of summer.Read More ›

Everything You Need for #NationalBookLoversDay

If, when you hear the word "jacket," you think of the covering on a book, not a garment; if you say "TGIF" because it means it's time for #FridayReads; and if #ireadeverywhere feels practically like an understatement, then #NationalBookLoversDay is your holiday. Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: August 15, 2016

Lots of love in the air this week, with a new family drama in the No. 1 spot and a new paranormal romance at No. 4.Read More ›

Frankster and The Veve: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 18

Up for some agony? Frank and Gwen talk suffering in literature and movies, debate the gender politics of picture books, and hang out with one of our funniest guests ever: Genoveve Stowell, manager of the 53rd Street branch.Read More ›

August Author @ the Library Programs at Mid-Manhattan Library

We've got a selection of engaging author talks coming up this month at the Mid-Manhattan Library. Come listen to scholars and other experts discuss their recent non-fiction books on a variety of subjects and ask them questions.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: August 8, 2016

It's prime beach-reading season! Romance and thrillers climb to the top of the list this week.Read More ›

Book Pairings for Olympic Sports

Just as with fine wines and meals, you need the right book to pair with the right sport, and we have some suggestions. Read More ›

Books in Chelsea Clinton’s DNC Speech

Her speech was relatively quick, but Clinton managed to mention multiple books and give a shout-out to the local library of her childhood.Read More ›

July 2016 International Fiction Bestsellers: France, Mexico, Singapore, South Korea, and Sweden

What are people reading around the world?Read More ›

Are You Getting the Whole Story? Beware the Filter Bubble

The "filter bubble": social media and exposure (or lack thereof) to differing viewpoints.Read More ›
Previous Page 3 of 46 Next

Chat with a librarian now