Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File


Your one-stop shop for blog posts across the Library about books, reading and literature. Subscribe to RSS Feed.

New York Times Read Alikes: October 2, 2016

Pirates and sheriffs make their way onto the bestseller list this week, with three newcomers in the top five.Read More ›

10 Great Picture Books about Diverse Children and Families

Here are some picture books that can help children appreciate and understand how people and families can be different, and, at the same time, share the same universal value: love. Read More ›

Fall Staff Picks Have Arrived!

It may not feel like fall here in New York, but our newest round of Staff Picks is ready for the season to begin!Read More ›

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans. Read More ›

New York Times Bestseller Read Alikes: September 25, 2016

Three new titles enter the top five this week! If you are among the masses who read and enjoyed these bestsellers and are left wanting more, here are a few suggestions. Read More ›

Finding George R.R. Martin's Earliest Work

What many may not realize is that before becoming a household name in fantasy, Martin began as a science fiction writer, also dabbling in other genres like horror. Finding these early works can be challenging because Martin’s short stories, novellas, and novelettes were often published in pulp magazines.Read More ›

Brainy and Brave: A Salute to Hermione Granger

There can only ever be one Hermione, but these other brainy, brave heroines from young-adult and middle-grade fiction remind us of her in some important ways.Read More ›

Winnie-the-Podcast: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 21

Eeyore, Tigger, Kanga, and Roo join Frank and Gwen in the studio this week... just kidding. But we have the next best thing: Michael Inman, curator of NYPL's Rare Book Division, who tells us about the restoration of the Library's historic Winnie-the-Pooh dolls. Plus: children's and YA books galore, and queens of all kinds.Read More ›

Want to Read More Diverse Books? Start Here.

A shortcut to finding more books by authors of color. Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: September 18, 2016

If you are among the many readers who read one of The New York Times top five fiction titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, we have some suggestions for you.Read More ›

'Read with a Child': Remembering Anna Dewdney

Author and illustrator Anna Dewdney, who created more than 20 picture books about the Llama family and other memorable characters, died yesterday at 50.Read More ›

The Ultimate Gilmore Girls Reading List

Here's a list of books that I'd recommend to the citizens of Stars Hollow if I were behind the reference desk at the SHPL.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: September 11, 2016

The Light Between Oceans popped back onto the bestseller list this week, after its movie adaptation opened in theaters across the country.Read More ›

September Author @ the Library Programs at Mid-Manhattan Library

We've got a selection of engaging author talks coming up this month at the Mid-Manhattan Library. Come listen to scholars and other experts discuss their recent non-fiction books on a variety of subjects and ask them questions. Read More ›

(Literary) Disco Dancing: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 20

Frank and Gwen are joined by Julia Pistell, co-host of the Literary Disco podcast! We play multiple rounds of guess-the-book, talk about whaling ships and virtual reality and Garfield Minus Garfield, and offer a bazillion book recommendations.Read More ›

World Literature: A Reading List from Open Book Night

Readers recommended books from Norway to Egypt, and Japan to the Dominican Republic. Please share your favorite international reading with us in the comments section below.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: September 4, 2016

Readers just can't get enough of the girl on that train, as Paula Hawkins' thriller once again ascends to the No. 1 spot. Plus: new stories of suspense, historical fiction, and more.Read More ›

6 Books for Kids about the Civil Rights Movement

Half a century after the Montgomery Bus Boycott that began with Rosa Parks, many authors of children’s literature are writing compelling middle-grade stories about the Civil Rights Movement in the 1950s and ’60s. Read More ›

A Labyrinth of Labyrinth Books

In honor of Borges’ spirit of ingenuity (and his August birthday), we created a flowchart of books about twisty mazes, both real and imagined.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: August 28, 2016

Two new titles join this list this week: historical fiction about the Underground Railroad and the newest installment of a popular series of F.B.I. thrillers.Read More ›
Previous Page 2 of 46 Next

Chat with a librarian now