Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File


Your one-stop shop for blog posts across the Library about books, reading and literature. Subscribe to RSS Feed.

New York Times Read Alikes: October 29, 2016

Two newbies take their places on the list this week: a CIA thriller and a family saga about a medical crisis.Read More ›

T.C. Boyle: Where to Begin

This post is part of a series in which Readers Services librarians suggest a good starting place for authors appearing in our LIVE from the NYPL series this fall. Read More ›

Ask the Author: T.C. Boyle

Five questions for T.C. Boyle, who's coming to LIVE from the NYPL on Oct. 26.Read More ›

7 Books That Will Haunt You Like a Ghost

A list of seven books that will haunt you long after you finish the last line.Read More ›

Election Happenings @ Mid-Manhattan Library!

On Tuesday, November 8, 2016, millions of Americans will head to the polls to elect the next President. Whether this is the first time you’ll cast your ballot, this Presidential election has piqued your interest, The New York Public Library has a robust collection of books, feature films, documentaries, music, and spoken arts just for you. Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: October 22, 2016

Get ready for some nail-biters! It's a suspenseful time of year, with four tense mysteries on the list this week.Read More ›

Game Changers: A Reading List from Open Book Night

This list of game changers focuses on anything and everything that made readers think differently about the book they were read or the books they may read in the future.Read More ›

Halloween Comes Early: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 23

As fall sets in and Halloween approaches, things get a little creeeeeeepy in the studio as Frank and Gwen bravely welcome horror expert and YA librarian Brian Stokes.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: October 16, 2016

If you read and enjoyed any of these bestselling titles, or you are waiting in queue, here are a few read alikes. There is never a reason to leave a library empty handed. Read More ›

Books Written at the New York Public Library

The New York Public Library's iconic Rose Main Reading Room at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building reopened today after a two-year closure for repairs and restorations. Since its opening in 1911, the Reading Room has served as a valuable resource for researchers, scholars, and writers. In honor of this morning's Reading Room reopening, we look at some of the books whose authors have acknowledged writing or researching at the Schwarzman Building over the years. Read More ›

NYPL Favorites for Comic Con

Nerds of all stripes are gearing up for New York Comic Con, which begins Oct. 6 and runs through the weekend. Many of us at NYPL are especially excited, because the first day of the conference focuses on comic books, graphic novels, and manga. Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: October 9, 2016

Romantic urban fantasy, gritty mysteries, and tales of amateur detectives... three more newcomers on the list this week!Read More ›

Margaret Atwood: Where to Begin

This post is part of a series in which Readers Services librarians suggest a good starting place for authors appearing in our LIVE from the NYPL series this fall.Read More ›

September 2016 International Fiction Bestsellers: China, Nigeria, Poland, Spain, UAE

Do you ever wonder what books are popular with readers in other countries? We do, so we’ve been taking a look at some bestseller lists from around the world to see what people are reading.Read More ›

October Author @ the Library Programs at Mid-Manhattan Library

We've got a selection of engaging author talks coming up this month at the Mid-Manhattan Library. Come listen to scholars and other experts discuss their recent non-fiction books on a variety of subjects and ask them questions. Read More ›

Sixteen, Going on Seventeen: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 22

Manga madness overtakes the podcast when Frank and Gwen are joined by YA librarian Chantalle Uzan. Plus: Love for Liesel... not so much for Lionel Shriver.

Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: October 2, 2016

Pirates and sheriffs make their way onto the bestseller list this week, with three newcomers in the top five.Read More ›

10 Great Picture Books about Diverse Children and Families

Here are some picture books that can help children appreciate and understand how people and families can be different, and, at the same time, share the same universal value: love. Read More ›

Fall Staff Picks Have Arrived!

It may not feel like fall here in New York, but our newest round of Staff Picks is ready for the season to begin!Read More ›

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans. Read More ›
Page 1 of 46 Next

Chat with a librarian now