Research Catalog

Le cinesi : opera seria ; Echo et Narcisse : lyric drama

Le cinesi : opera seria ; Echo et Narcisse : lyric drama [videorecording] / music [by] Christoph Willibald Gluck ; libretto [for Le cinesi] by Pietro Metastasio ; libretto [for Echo et Narcisse] by L. Th. von Tschudi ; a Schwetzinger Festspiele/RM Arts co-production.
Gluck, Christoph Willibald, Ritter von, 1714-1787.
Chicago : Home Vision, c1988.

Items in the Library & Off-site

Filter by

2 Items

StatusVol/DateFormatAccessCall NumberItem Location
pt.2Moving imageUse in library VCASS 70 pt.2Off-site
pt.1Moving imageUse in library VCASS 70 pt.1Off-site


Additional Authors
  • Metastasio, Pietro, 1698-1782.
  • Tschudi, Jean-Baptiste-Louis-Théodore, baron de, 1734-1784.
  • Streit, Kurt.
  • Boulin, Sophie.
  • Högman, Christina, 1956-
  • Tersson, Eva Maria.
  • Massell, Deborah.
  • Galliard, Peter.
  • Jacobs, René.
  • Wernicke, Herbert.
  • Viller, Claus.
  • Gluck, Christoph Willibald, Ritter von, 1714-1787.
  • Concerto Köln (Musical group)
  • Westdeutscher Rundfunk.
  • SEPT (Television station : France)
  • Home Vision (Firm)
  • RM Arts (Firm)
  • Schwetzinger Festspiele.
2 videocassettes (VHS) (168 min.) : sd., col.; 1/2 in.
Series Statement
The compleat operagoer ; #71
Uniform Title
Alternative Title
  • Cinesi
  • Innocenza ed il piacer
  • Le cinesi, opera in 1 act, with ballet L'innocenza et il piacer; Echo et Narcisse, opera in 3 acts with a prologue.
  • Le cinesi sung in Italian with English subtitles; Echo et Narcisse sung in French with English subtitles.
  • Title on container: Gluck's L'innocenza ed il piacer, the Schwetzinger Festival.
  • Hi-fi, stereo.
Credits (note)
  • Cameras: Bruno Hoffmann, Thomas Dillmann, Peter-Jürgen Gersonde, Elmar Kerkrath, Wolfgang Lehr ; videotape editor, Hans-Jochen Brauns.
Performer (note)
  • Le cinesi: Kurt Streit (Silango), Sophie Boulin (Sivene), Christina Högman (Lisinga), Eva Maria Tersson (Tangia). Echo et Narcisse: Deborah Massell (Amor), Sophie Boulin (Echo), Kurt Streit (Narcisse), Peter Galliard (Cynire), Gertrud Hoffstedt (Eglé), Christina Högman (Algaé), Hanne Krogen (Thanais, a nymph), Eva Maria Tersson (Sylphie, a nymph) ; Concerto Köln ; René Jacobs, conductor ; Herbert Wernicke, producer, costume and set designer ; directed for video by Claus Viller.
Event (note)
  • "Recorded live from the resplendent rococco theater at the Schwetzingen Palace near Heidelberg, this double bill by Gluck coincides with the anniversary of his death in 1787"--Container.
Tape 1: Le cinesi (69 min.) -- tape 2: Echo et Narcisse (99 min.).
Owning Institutions
Princeton University Library