Research Catalog

Brooklyn Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra

Brooklyn Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra [sound recording].
New York, N.Y. : Gramavision, p1983.

Items in the Library & Off-site

Filter by

1 Item

StatusFormatAccessCall NumberItem Location
AudioUse in library LS- 20490Off-site


Additional Authors
  • Steiner, Nyle.
  • Plantamura, Carol.
  • Foss, Lukas, 1922-2009.
  • Cage, John.
  • Cowell, Henry, 1897-1965.
  • Harrison, Lou, 1917-2003.
  • Thomson, Virgil, 1896-1989.
  • Hughes, Robert, 1933-
  • Ussachevsky, Vladimir, 1911-1990.
  • Smit, Leo, 1921-1999.
  • Brooklyn Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra.
1 sound disc : analog, 33 1/3 rpm, stereo.; 12 in.
  • The 1st work for trombone, strings, dulcimers and psalteries; the 2nd, for electronic valve instrument, tape and chamber orchestra; the 3rd, arr. for winds and piano; the 4th, for histrionic voice, piano, clarinet, violoncello and percussion.
  • The 3rd work conceived as a party game.
  • The 4th work sung in English; words by W. H. Auden. Expanded version of 1982, with one extra section and nine connecting piano inerludes.
  • Editions recorded: Peer International; ACA; Peters; C. Fischer.
  • Program notes by Leo Smit on container.
Event (note)
  • Recorded at Cooper Union Great Hall, New York City.
At the tomb of Charles Ives / Lou Harrison (3:40) -- Divertimento 1980-1981 / Vladimir Ussachevsky (13:38) -- Party pieces / John Cage, Henry Cowell, Lou Harrison, Virgil Thomson ; [arr. Robert Hughes] (9:53) -- Academic graffiti / Leo Smit (9:00)
Owning Institutions
Princeton University Library