Research Catalog

Boris Godunov opera in two parts and eight scenes

Boris Godunov [videorecording] : opera in two parts and eight scenes / adapted from Alexander Pushkin's historical tragedy, with additional material partly derived from historical works by Nikolai Mihailoivch Karamzin ; libretto and music by Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky ; a Rai, Rai Trade co-production with NHK, from the Teatro Regio, Turin.
Mussorgsky, Modest Petrovich, 1839-1881.
[Hammersmith, London] : Opus Arte, c2011.

Items in the Library & Off-site

Filter by

1 Item

StatusFormatAccessCall NumberItem Location
Moving imageUse in library MUSDVD1503Off-site


Additional Authors
  • Pushkin, Aleksandr Sergeevich, 1799-1837.
  • Karamzin, Nikolaĭ Mikhaĭlovich, 1766-1826.
  • Anastassov, Orlin, 1976-
  • Storey, Ian.
  • Vaneev, Vladimir.
  • Bronder, Peter, 1953-
  • Akimov, Evgeniĭ, 1967-
  • Noseda, Gianandrea.
  • Mikhalkov-Konchalovskiĭ, Andreĭ.
  • Gregori, Graziano, 1954-
  • Teti, Carla, 1969-
  • Nesler, Francesca.
  • Coro di voci bianche del Teatro Regio e del Conservatorio "Giuseppe Verdi" di Torino. prf
  • Teatro regio (Turin, Italy) prf
  • Rai Trade (Firm)
  • Nihon Hōsō Kyōkai.
  • Opus Arte (Firm)
1 videodisc (165 min.) : sd., col. ; 4 3/4 in. + guide (23 p. : col. ill. ; 18 cm.)
Set at the start of the 17th century, the story concerns the reign of Tsar Boris Godunov, who has murdered the Tsarevich Dmitri in order to obtain the succession, and the challenge made to him by the Pretender Dmitri. The opera is based on Pushkin's historical tragedy of the same name with additional material partially derived from historical works by Nikolai Karamzin.
Uniform Title
Boris Godunov (1869)
Alternative Title
Boris Godunov (1869)
  • Adapted from Mussorgsky's first version (1869) with the addition of the final (Kromy Forest) scene from Mussorgsky's final revision (1874).
  • Extra features: interviews with A. Konchalovsky and G. Noseda; cast gallery.
  • Program notes and synopsis in English, German and French in container.
Credits (note)
  • Director and lighting designer, Andrei Konchalovsky; set designer, Graziano Gregori; costume designer, Carla Teti; director for video and television, Francesca Nesler; staging in co-production with the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofía (Valencia) and Fondazione Lirico Sinfonica Petruzzelli e Teatri di Bari.
Event (note)
  • Recorded in performance Oct. 7, 10, 13, 2010, Teatro Regio, Turin.
System Details (note)
  • DVD-9; soundtracks in DTS 5.1, Dolby digital stereo; aspect ratio 16:9 anamorphic.
Language (note)
  • Sung in Russian; subtitles in English, French, German, and Spanish.
  • ocn748839181
  • 748839181
Owning Institutions
Columbia University Libraries