Research Catalog

Sophie's choice

Sophie's choice [videorecording] / music and libretto by Nicholas Maw ; based on the novel by William Styron ; comissioned by BBC Radio 3 in association with the Royal Opera House ; directed for the screen by Francesca Kemp ; producer, Ben Weston.
[Heathfield] : Opus Arte, c2010.

Items in the Library & Off-site

Filter by

1 Item

StatusFormatAccessCall NumberItem Location
Moving imageUse in library MUSDVD1238Off-site


Additional Authors
  • Maw, Nicholas.
  • Rattle, Simon, 1955-
  • Kemp, Francesca.
  • Weston, Ben.
  • Edwards, Terry, 1939-
  • Kirchschlager, Angelika.
  • Duesing, Dale.
  • Gilfry, Rodney.
  • Getz, Gordon.
  • McCafferty, Frances.
  • Dean, Stafford.
  • Silvasti, Jorma, 1959-
  • Opie, Alan.
  • Friede, Stephanie.
  • Styron, William, 1925-2006.
  • Royal Opera House (London, England) pro
  • Royal Opera House (London, England). Orchestra. prf
  • Royal Opera House (London, England). Chorus. prf
  • BBC Radio 3. pro
  • Opus Arte (Firm)
2 videodiscs (ca. 223 min.) : sd., col.; 4 3/4 in.
Set in Brooklyn in 1947, the story is narrated by Stingo, a 22-year-old struggling writer from Virginia. It describes in flashback his relationship with two doomed lovers, Nathan, a brilliant, paranoid-schizophrenic Jew, and Sophie, a Polish survivor of Auschwitz. It gradually uncovers Catholic Sophie's tormented past culminating in her need to choose which of her two small children will go to the gas chamber and which will be given the chance to live.
  • Filmed operas.
  • Televised operas.
  • Feature films.
  • Nonfiction films.
  • Information on subtitles listed in container differs from the one on screen.
  • "... Release on DVD of the BBC transmission, as broadcast live in December 2002."--Container.
  • Special features include: an illustrated synopsis, cast gallery, and an interview with Simon Rattle.
  • Double layer discs.
  • Booklet (25 p. ; col. ill.) with program notes in English, French, and German inserted in container.
Credits (note)
  • Stage director, Trevor Nunn ; chorus master, Peter Manning ; chorus director, Terry Edwards.
Event (note)
  • Recorded live at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London, on 21st December 2002.
System Details (note)
  • DVD; DVD-9; NTSC, all regions; aspect ratio 16:9; PCM 2.0 stereo or DTS Digital Surround audio formats.
Language (note)
  • Sung in English with English, French, German, and Spanish oprional subtitles.
  • ocn611942744
  • 611942744
Owning Institutions
Columbia University Libraries