Research Catalog

Marco Polo opera within an opera

Marco Polo [videorecording] : opera within an opera / opera composer, Tan Dun ; libretto, Paul Griffiths ; musical director, Tan Dun ; film director, Misjel Vermeiren ; film producer, Coby Van Dijck ; a co-production of De Nederlandse Opera and the NPS.
Waldron, Heathfield, East Sussex : Opus Arte, [2009]

Items in the Library & Off-site

Filter by

1 Item

StatusFormatAccessCall NumberItem Location
Moving imageUse in library MUSDVD1265Off-site


Additional Authors
  • Tan, Dun, 1957-
  • Griffiths, Paul.
  • Vermeiren, Misjel.
  • Dijck, Coby van.
  • Workman, Charles.
  • Castle, Sarah (Mezzo-soprano)
  • Richardson, Stephen (Bass)
  • Lundy, Nancy Allen.
  • Jun, Zhang.
  • Kross, Tania.
  • Bryant, Stephen, 1949-
  • Na, Mu.
  • Linning, Nanine.
  • Audi, Pierre.
  • Nederlandse Opera. prf
  • Cappella Amsterdam. prf
  • Nederlands Kamerorkest. prf
  • Nederlandse Programma Stichting.
  • Opus Arte (Firm)
1 videodisc (ca.156 min.) : sd., col.; 4 3/4 in.
In 'Marco Polo, an opera within an opera', composer Tan Dun portrays the Venetian explorer's travels to the Far East as a journey of both inner and physical discovery, a voyage depicting spiritual experiences as well as a geographical expedition. At the same time the work, on a libretto by Paul Griffiths, can be seen as a compositional adventure of the composer himself, unifying the various cultural worlds he occupies: a blend of Western avant garde and Oriental traditions.
Alternative Title
Music of tomorrow.
  • Televised operas.
  • Feature films.
  • Nonfiction films.
  • Double layer DVD.
  • Booklet with program notes in English, French and German (25 p.) inserted in container.
  • Special features: illustrated synopsis, cast gallery, The music of tomorrow: a documentary.
Credits (note)
  • Choreographer, Nanine Linning ; stage director, Pierre Audi.
Event (note)
  • Recorded live on 13 & 18 November 2008 at Het Muziektheater, Amsterdam.
System Details (note)
  • DVD; NTSC; all regions; widescreen (16:9) presentation; digital DTS surround 5.0, LPCM stereo.
Language (note)
  • Sung in English ; with optional subtitles in English, French, German, Spanish, Italian and Dutch.
  • ocn433191830
  • 433191830
Owning Institutions
Columbia University Libraries