Research Catalog

La clemenza di Tito opera seria in two acts

La clemenza di Tito [videorecording] : opera seria in two acts / music, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart ; libretto, Metastasio and Mazzola ; recitatives, Stephen Oliver ; directed for the stage by Nicholas Hytner ; directed for TV by Robin Lough ; a BBC-TV production in association with RM Arts ; the Glyndebourne Festival Opera production.
[S.l.] : RM Associates ; Chatsworth, CA : Distributed exclusively by Image Entertainment, [2001]

Items in the Library & Off-site

Filter by

1 Item

StatusFormatAccessCall NumberItem Location
Moving imageUse in library MUSDVD271Off-site


Additional Authors
  • Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus, 1756-1791.
  • Metastasio, Pietro, 1698-1782.
  • Mazzolà, Caterino, 1745-1806.
  • Oliver, Stephen, 1950-1992.
  • Hytner, Nicholas.
  • Lough, Robin.
  • Langridge, Philip, 1939-2010.
  • Putnam, Ashley.
  • Montague, Diana.
  • Mahé, Martine.
  • Szmytka, Elzbieta.
  • Rose, Peter, 1961-
  • Davis, Andrew, 1944-
  • Glyndebourne Festival Chorus. prf
  • London Philharmonic Orchestra. prf
  • British Broadcasting Corporation. Television Service. pro
  • RM Arts (Firm) pro
  • Glyndebourne Festival Opera Company. pro
  • Reiner Moritz Associates. pbl
  • Image Entertainment (Firm) dst
1 videodisc (143 min.) : sd., col.; 4 3/4 in. +
In this performance of Mozart's last opera, Nicholas Hytner's staging for the Glyndebourne Festival Opera sheds new light on a story of passion that overrides loyalty and integrity that is tested to the extreme.
  • Originally produced in 1991.
Credits (note)
  • Designer, David Fielding ; lighting designer, Jean Kalman ; television lighting, Clive Potter ; executive producers, Jane Seymour, Dennis Marks.
Performer (note)
  • Philip Langridge (Tito) ; Ashley Putnam (Vitellia) ; Diana Montague (Sesto) ; Martine Mahe (Annio) ; Elzbieta Szmytka (Servilia) ; Peter Rose (Publio) ; Roy Ashby, Andy Burke, Rowland Collins, Danny Edwards, Christopher Gallagher, Stephen Gressieux, Stuart Hulse, Stefan Lander, actors ; Joyce Fieldsend, harpsichord continuo ; London Philharmonic ; The Glyndebourne Chorus ; Andrew Davis, conductor.
System Details (note)
  • DVD video; Dolby digital 5.1 surround, 2.0 stereo.; coded for Region 1 (North America) playback only.
Language (note)
  • Sung in Italian; subtitles in English.
Owning Institutions
Columbia University Libraries