Research Catalog

New music with guitar.

New music with guitar. Volume 2.
New York, N.Y. : Bridge, [1984], ℗1984.

Items in the Library & Off-site

Filter by

1 Item

StatusFormatAccessCall NumberItem Location
AudioUse in library LS4861Off-site


Additional Authors
  • Starobin, David
  • Rees, Rosalind
  • Palma-Nidel, Susan
  • Carter, Elliott, 1908-2012.
  • Takemitsu, Tōru.
  • Lennon, John Anthony.
  • Del Tredici, David.
  • Kolb, Barbara.
1 audio disc : analog, 33 1/3 rpm; 12 in.
Alternative Title
  • Changes.
  • Toward the sea.
  • Another\u0027s fandango.
  • Acrostic song.
  • Songs before an adieu.
  • The 2nd work for alto flute and guitar; the 5th work a song cycle for soprano, flute and alto flute, guitar; all others for guitar solo. The 4th work originally for soprano and orchestra, arr. by Steven Mercurio, arr. revised by the composer and the performer.
  • The 5th work sung in English (1st-4th songs), and French (5th song).
  • Eds. recorded: Hendon Music (1st work); Schott Japan (2nd work); Mel Bay Publications (3rd work); Bossey & Hawkes (4th-5th works)
  • Program notes by William K. Bland on container; texts of the 5th work (1 sheet) inserted.
Event (note)
  • The 1st to 4th works recorded at Holy Trinity Episcopal Church, New York City, April 9, 1984 (1st), Mar 7, 1984 (2nd), and April 16, 1984 (3rd-4th); the 5th work recorded at the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, New York City, October 1, 1982.
Changes / Elliott Carter (6:57) -- Toward the sea. The night ; Moby Dick ; Cape Cod / Toru Takemitsu (9:49) -- Another\u0027s fandango / John Anthony Lennon (6:01) -- Acrostic song / David Del Tredici (4:04) -- Songs before an adieu. The sentences ; now i lay ; Cantata ; Gluttonous smoke ; L\u0027Adieu / Barbara Kolb ; texts respectively by Robert Pinsky, e. e. cummings, Howard Stern, Vasko Popa (translated by Ann Pennington), and Guillaume Apollinaire (18:30).
  • 11246198
  • ocm11246198
  • SCSB-3658550
Owning Institutions
Columbia University Libraries