Research Catalog

We were strangers once : a novel

Title
We were strangers once : a novel / Betsy Carter.
Author
Carter, Betsy, 1945-
Publication
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.

Items in the Library & Offsite


About 1 Item.
Still Loading More items...

FormatAccessStatusCall NumberLocation
TextUse in libraryRequestJFE 17-9554Schwarzman Building - Main Reading Room 315

Details

Description
327 pages; 24 cm
Subjects
Genre/Form
  • Historical fiction.
  • Jewish fiction.
Call Number
JFE 17-9554
ISBN
  • 9781455571437
  • 1455571431
LCCN
2017016500
Author
Carter, Betsy, 1945- author.
Title
We were strangers once : a novel / Betsy Carter.
Publisher
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Edition
First edition.
Type of Content
text
Type of Medium
unmediated
Type of Carrier
volume
Summary
"For readers of The Nightingale and, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City. On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind. They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home. With her uncanny ability to create indelible characters in unforgettable circumstances, Betsy Carter has crafted a gorgeous novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt adrift and longed for home"-- Provided by publisher.
Research Call Number
JFE 17-9554
View in Legacy Catalog