Unraveling Oliver

Title
Unraveling Oliver / Liz Nugent.
Author
Nugent, Liz,
Publication
New York : Scout Press, 2017.

Items in the Library & Offsite


About 1 Item.
Still Loading More items...

FormatAccessStatusCall NumberLocation
TextUse in libraryRequestJFE 17-9138Schwarzman Building - Main Reading Room 315

Details

Description
260 pages; 24 cm
Subjects
Genre/Form
  • Domestic fiction.
  • Psychological fiction.
  • Thrillers (Fiction)
Call Number
JFE 17-9138
ISBN
  • 9781501167751
  • 1501167758
LCCN
2017000051
Author
Nugent, Liz, author.
Title
Unraveling Oliver / Liz Nugent.
Publisher
New York : Scout Press, 2017.
Edition
First Scout Press hardcover edition.
Type of Content
text
Type of Medium
unmediated
Type of Carrier
volume
Summary
"In this "compelling, clever, and dark" (Heat magazine) thriller, a man's shocking act of savagery stuns a local community-and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware. "I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her." So begins Liz Nugent's astonishing debut novel--a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil. Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease--until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma. In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple's friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation. With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is "a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense" (Sunday Independent) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath"-- Provided by publisher.
"A brilliant, compulsively readable debut novel -- and a #1 bestseller in the author's native Ireland -- about the truth behind a shocking act of savagery, and the profound lies and deceptions that come to light in its wake"-- Provided by publisher.
Other Editions:
Reproduction of (manifestation): Nugent, Liz. Unraveling Oliver Dublin, Ireland : Penguin Ireland, 2014 (DLC) 2013456656
Other Form:
Online version: Nugent, Liz. Unraveling Oliver First Gallery Books hardcover edition. New York : Gallery Books, 2017 9781501167768 (DLC) 2017008188
Research Call Number
JFE 17-9138
View in Legacy Catalog