Research Catalog

We were strangers once

Title
We were strangers once / Betsy Carter.
Author
Carter, Betsy, 1945-
Publication
[Ashland, OR] : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Electronic Resource
Access eNYPL

Details

Additional Authors
Description
1 online resource (1 sound file (10 hr., 07 min., 39 sec.)) : digital.
Subject
Genre/Form
  • Audiobooks.
  • Downloadable audio books.
  • Fiction.
ISBN
  • 9781478991083
  • 1478991089
Author
Carter, Betsy, 1945- author.
Title
We were strangers once / Betsy Carter.
Publisher
[Ashland, OR] : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Playing Time
100739
Type of Content
spoken word
Type of Medium
computer
Type of Carrier
online resource
Performer
Read by Suzanne Toren.
Summary
For readers of The Nightingale and Brooklyn, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City.On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind.They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home. With her uncanny ability to create indelible characters in unforgettable circumstances, Betsy Carter has crafted a gorgeous novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt adrift and longed for home.
Source of description
Online resource; title from title details screen (OverDrive, viewed September 19, 2017).
Connect to:
Chronological Term
1900-1999
Added Author
Toren, Suzanne, narrator.
OverDrive, Inc.
Branch Call Number
eNYPL Audio
View in Legacy Catalog