Research Catalog

The vineyard : a novel

Title
The vineyard : a novel / Maria Duenas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia.
Author
Dueñas, María, 1964-
Publication
New York : Atria Books, 2017.

Available Online

Access eNYPL

Details

Additional Authors
Description
1 online resource
Uniform Title
Templanza. English
Alternative Title
Templanza.
Subject
Genre/Form
  • Electronic books.
  • Historical fiction.
  • Romance fiction.
Note
  • Electronic book.
Reproduction (note)
  • Electronic reproduction.
ISBN
9781501124556
Author
Dueñas, María, 1964-
Title
The vineyard : a novel / Maria Duenas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia.
Publisher
New York : Atria Books, 2017.
Type of Content
text
Type of Medium
computer
Type of Carrier
online resource
Summary
"New York Times bestselling author Maria Duenas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. Mauro Larrea's fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the widow of a London wine merchant who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family's legacy. Before long, Mauro finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory, propelling himself toward a future that he never could have imagined. From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, when the wine trade with England transformed the Andalusian city, Maria Duenas' new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, the sophistication of the Mexican capital, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion"-- Provided by publisher.
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction. [S.l.] Atria Books 2017 Available via World Wide Web.
Connect to:
Added Author
Caistor, Nick, translator.
Garcia, Lorenza, translator.
Bibliotheca (Firm)
Other Form:
Online version: Dueñas, María, 1964- author. Vineyard First Atria Books hardcover edition. New York : Atria Books, 2017 9781501124556 (DLC) 2017024093
Branch Call Number
eNYPL Book
View in Legacy Catalog