Research Catalog

The 25th Annual Tony Awards

The 25th Annual Tony Awards [videorecording] / executive producer, Alexander H. Cohen ; written by Hildy Parks ; directed by Clark Jones.
New York, c1971.

Items in the Library & Off-site

Filter by

1 Item

StatusFormatAccessCall NumberItem Location
Moving imageRestricted use NCOX 285Performing Arts Research Collections - TOFT


Additional Authors
  • Cohen, Alexander H., 1920-2000
  • Parks, Hildy, 1926-2004
  • Jones, Clark, 1920-2002
  • Lawrence, Elliot, 1925-2021
  • Somlyo, Roy A
  • Bacall, Lauren, 1924-2014
  • Lansbury, Angela, 1925-2022
  • Quayle, Anthony, 1913-1989
  • Quinn, Anthony, 1915-2001
  • Cavett, Dick
  • Channing, Carol
  • Keeler, Ruby
  • Adams, Edie, 1927-2008
  • Blaine, Vivian, 1921-1995
  • Bosley, Tom
  • Brynner, Yul
  • Daniels, William, 1927-
  • Drake, Alfred, 1914-1992
  • Fabray, Nanette
  • Haworth, Jill
  • Henderson, Florence
  • Holloway, Stanley
  • Kiley, Richard
  • Lynde, Paul
  • Morison, Patricia, 1915-2018
  • Morse, Robert, 1931-2022
  • Mostel, Zero, 1915-1977
  • Preston, Robert, 1918-1987
  • Raitt, John, 1917-2005
  • Uggams, Leslie
  • Verdon, Gwen
  • Vestoff, Virginia
  • Walston, Ray, 1917-2001
  • Wayne, David, 1914-1995
  • Norton, Elliot, 1903-
  • Ash, Ingram
  • Stevens, Roger L
  • Bedford, Brian, 1935-2016
  • Linden, Hal
  • Sand, Paul, 1935-
  • Curtis, Keene, 1923-2002
  • Stapleton, Maureen
  • Gallagher, Helen, 1926-
  • Allen, Rae
  • Kelly, Patsy, 1910-1981
  • Furth, George, 1932-2008
  • Saddler, Donald
  • Du Bois, Raoul Pène, 1914-1985
  • Brook, Peter, 1925-2022
  • Prince, Harold, 1928-2019
  • Aronson, Boris, 1900-1980
  • Sondheim, Stephen
  • Poindexter, H. R
  • Kluge, John
  • Shaffer, Anthony, 1926-2001
  • Gottlieb, Morton
  • Mitchell, Ruth, 1919-2000
  • American Theatre Wing, producer.
  • ABC Television Network.
1 videodisc (DVD) (122 min.) : sd., col. NTSC; 4 3/4 in.
Gift of the American Theatre Wing.
Series Statement
Tony Awards
Uniform Title
Playbill (New York, N.Y.)
Alternative Title
1971 Tony Awards
  • Credits at end of tape.
  • Includes original television commercials.
  • Not all awards presented included in the broadcast. For a complete list of recipients see
  • This year's theme was a retrospective of highlights from 25 years of Tony-winning musicals and the stars who introduced them.
  • Opening Number: What's happening at the palace. Finale: There's no business like show business, Entire Company.
  • Saluting 25 Years of Tony Award-Winning Musicals: Finian's rainbow; High button shoes; Kiss me, Kate; South Pacific; Guys and dolls; The King & I; Wonderful town; Kismet; Can-Can; The pajama game; Damn Yankees; My fair lady; The music man; Redhead; Fiorello!; The sound of music; Bye, bye, Birdie; How to succeed in business without really trying; A funny thing happened on the way to the forum; Hello, Dolly!; Fiddler on the roof; Mame; Man of La Mancha; Cabaret; Hallelujah, baby!; 1776; Applause.
  • Special Tony Award winners: Playbill, for chronicling Broadway through the years, John Kluge, chairman, Metromedia; Producer Roger L. Stevens.
Access (note)
  • Restricted to qualified researchers.
Credits (note)
  • Musical director, Elliot Lawrence ; co-produced by Roy A. Somlyo.
Event (note)
  • Videotaped by the ABC Television Network at the Palace Theatre, New York, N.Y., during a live broadcast March 28, 1971.
  • Award recipients (performer, category / play title): Brian Bedford, actor / The school for wives -- Hal Linden, actor / The Rothschilds -- Paul Sand, featured actor / Story Theatre -- Keene Curtis, featured actor / The Rothschilds -- Maureen Stapleton, actress / The gingerbread lady -- Helen Gallagher, actress / No, no Nanette -- Rae Allen, featured actress / And Miss Reardon drinks a little -- Patsy Kelly, featured actress / No, no Nanette.
  • Award recipients (name, category / play title): George Furth, book / Company -- Donald Saddler, choreographer / No, no, Nanette -- Raoul Penè Du Bois, costume designer / No, no Nanette -- Peter Brook, director, play / A midsummer night's dream -- Harold Prince, director, musical / Company - H. R. Poindexter, lighting designer / Story Theatre -- Stephen Sondheim, lyrics / Company -- Harold Prince, Ruth Mitchell, producers / Company -- Anthony Shaffer, playwright; Morton Gottlieb, et al., producers / Sleuth -- Boris Aronson, scenic designer / Company -- Stephen Sondheim, score / Company.
Call Number
NCOX 285
The 25th Annual Tony Awards [videorecording] / executive producer, Alexander H. Cohen ; written by Hildy Parks ; directed by Clark Jones.
New York, c1971.
Tony Awards
Restricted to qualified researchers.
Musical director, Elliot Lawrence ; co-produced by Roy A. Somlyo.
Hosts: Lauren Bacall, Angela Lansbury, Anthony Quayle, Anthony Quinn.
Presenters: Dick Cavett, Carol Channing, Ruby Keeler.
Performers: Performers: Edie Adams, Lauren Bacall, Vivian Blaine, Tom Bosley, Yul Brynner, Carol Channing, William Daniels, Alfred Drake, Nanette Fabray, Jill Haworth, Florence Henderson, Stanley Holloway, Richard Kiley, Angela Lansbury, Paul Lynde, Patricia Morrison, Robert Morse, Zero Mostel, Robert Preston, John Raitt, Leslie Uggams, Gwen Verdon, Virginia Vestoff, Ray Walston, David Wayne.
Videotaped by the ABC Television Network at the Palace Theatre, New York, N.Y., during a live broadcast March 28, 1971.
Connect to:
Request Access to Theatre on Film and Tape Archive Special Collections material
Local Subject
Broadway theater -- Awards.
Added Author
Cohen, Alexander H., 1920-2000, producer.
Parks, Hildy, 1926-2004, writer.
Jones, Clark, 1920-2002, director.
Lawrence, Elliot, 1925-2021, conductor.
Somlyo, Roy A, producer.
Bacall, Lauren, 1924-2014, host.
Lansbury, Angela, 1925-2022, host.
Quayle, Anthony, 1913-1989, host.
Quinn, Anthony, 1915-2001, host.
Cavett, Dick, presenter.
Channing, Carol, presenter.
Keeler, Ruby, presenter.
Adams, Edie, 1927-2008, performer.
Bacall, Lauren, 1924-2014, performer.
Blaine, Vivian, 1921-1995, performer.
Bosley, Tom, performer.
Brynner, Yul, performer.
Channing, Carol, performer.
Daniels, William, 1927- performer.
Drake, Alfred, 1914-1992, performer.
Fabray, Nanette, performer.
Haworth, Jill, performer.
Henderson, Florence, performer.
Holloway, Stanley, performer.
Kiley, Richard, performer.
Lansbury, Angela, 1925-2022, performer.
Lynde, Paul, performer.
Morison, Patricia, 1915-2018, performer.
Morse, Robert, 1931-2022, performer.
Mostel, Zero, 1915-1977, performer.
Preston, Robert, 1918-1987, performer.
Raitt, John, 1917-2005, performer.
Uggams, Leslie, performer.
Verdon, Gwen, performer.
Vestoff, Virginia, performer.
Walston, Ray, 1917-2001, performer.
Wayne, David, 1914-1995, performer.
Norton, Elliot, 1903- recipient.
Ash, Ingram, recipient.
Stevens, Roger L, recipient.
Bedford, Brian, 1935-2016, recipient.
Linden, Hal, recipient.
Sand, Paul, 1935- recipient.
Curtis, Keene, 1923-2002, recipient.
Stapleton, Maureen, recipient.
Gallagher, Helen, 1926- recipient.
Allen, Rae, recipient.
Kelly, Patsy, 1910-1981, recipient.
Furth, George, 1932-2008, recipient.
Saddler, Donald, recipient.
Du Bois, Raoul Pène, 1914-1985, recipient.
Brook, Peter, 1925-2022, recipient.
Prince, Harold, 1928-2019, recipient.
Aronson, Boris, 1900-1980, recipient.
Sondheim, Stephen, recipient.
Poindexter, H. R, recipient.
Kluge, John, recipient.
Shaffer, Anthony, 1926-2001, recipient.
Gottlieb, Morton, recipient.
Mitchell, Ruth, 1919-2000, recipient.
American Theatre Wing, producer.
ABC Television Network.
Added Title
Playbill (New York, N.Y.)
Research Call Number
NCOX 285
View in Legacy Catalog