Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

American Encounters: New Century Voices


Saturday, December 2, 2017, 2:30 p.m.

The New York Classical Players launch a new season of “Encounters” concerts that explore the rich holdings of American chamber music in the archival collections of The Library for the Performing Arts. Each born in the first decade of the twentieth century, Aaron Copland and Samuel Barber matured as composers, while our country endured two world wars and the Depression. Join us for an afternoon of archival display, friendly, informative conversation, plus performances of music that soothed a war weary nation: Samuel Barber’s Cello Sonata, and Aaron Copland’s Sextet for Clarinet, Piano, and String Quartet.



Samuel Barber (1910-1981), Ballade for Piano, Op. 46 (1977)

                                                                 Sonata for Violincello and Piano, Op. 6 (1932).

                                                                                     I. Allegro ma non troppo,

                                                                                     II. Adagio,

                                                                                     III. Allegro appassionato.

Aaron Copland (1900-1990), Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, originally violin and piano. (1943, arr. 1980)

                                                                                    I. Andante semplice

                                                                                    II. Lento

                                                                                    III. Allegretto giusto

                                                                  Sextet for Clarinet, Piano, and String Quartet. (1937)

                                                                                   I. Allegro vivace

                                                                                   II. Lento

                                                                                   III. Finale. Precise and rhythmic


New York Classical Players


The Library for the Performing Arts is proud to offer free admission to this program on a first come, first served basis. Admission lines form one hour prior to each program.  At that time one ticket is provided per person. Tickets are not available for advance reservation and saving seats is not permitted. General admission seating. Call 212.642.0142 for more detailed information. All programs are subject to last minute change or cancellation.


Recommended Reading/Viewing/Listening:

1. Samuel Barber

2. The Rest is Noise : listening to the twentieth century

3. Copland and the American Sound