Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Radio Maestro: Toscanini and NBC Symphony Orchestra


An astonishing 23,000 people requested tickets for the live-taping of Arturo Toscanini’s inaugural radio concert conducting the newly founded NBC Symphony Orchestra. On December 25, 1937, performances of Mozart’s “Great G Minor Symphony” and Brahms’ Symphony no. 1 were broadcast live from studio 8H into millions of households, uplifting a nation still struggling through the Great Depression. The library draws a sonic portrait of Christmas Day, 1937, with a presentation of Toscanini’s first NBC broadcast and other radio recordings from the time.

Reserve your general admission seat HERE starting November 13, 2017.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791), Symphony No. 40 in G minor, KV. 550 "Great" (1788).      

 I. Molto allegro,

 II. Andante,

 III. Menuetto, Alllegretto-Trio,

IV. Finale, Allegro assai.

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897), Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68 (1854-1876).

I. Un poco sostenuto- Allegro,

II. Andante sostenuto,

III. Un poco allegretto e grazioso,

IV. Adagio - Piu andante - Allegro non troppo, ma con brio - Piu allegro.

Still photographs from the film Hymn of the Nations
Still from Hymn of the Nations


(If you need assistance with online reservations, please visit the welcome desk at the Library for the Performing Arts' Lincoln Center Plaza entrance, where volunteers will make a reservation for you, even if you do not use email. For free events, The Library generally overbooks to ensure a full house. All registered seats are released 15 minutes before start time, so we recommend that you arrive early.)

This program is supported by

Time Warner Logo


Recommended Reading/Viewing:

1. Toscanini : the maestro : a life in pictures

2. The letters of Arturo Toscanini

3. Arturo Toscanini : the NBC years


Part of the Toscannini Listening Series:

Music for a City Under Siege - Jan. 30th

Toscannini's American Anthems- Dec. 13