Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

2012 Young Lions Fiction Award


The New York Public Library’s Young Lions Committee
Invites you to celebrate the presentation of the Twelfth Annual Young Lions Fiction Award honoring the works of today’s best young fiction writers.

Monday, May 14, 2012
Reception 7:00 p.m.
Ceremony 8:00 p.m.

Selections from this year's finalists will be read by celebrated actors
Celeste Bartos Forum
The New York Public Library
Stephen A Schwarzman Building
Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street
Please use the 42nd Street entrance
RSVP or 212-930-0885
This event is held exclusively for Young Lions members and their guests.
Teju Cole, Open City
Benjamin Hale, The Evolution of Bruno Littlemore
Ben Lerner, Leaving the Atocha Station
Karen Russell, Swamplandia!
Jesmyn Ward, Salvage the Bones
Judges for the 2012 Young Lions Fiction Award
Àlvaro Enrigue
A.M. Homes
Adam Levin
The Readers Committee
Jenny Davidson
Ethan Hawke
Brigid Hughes
Mary-Beth Hughes
Jennifer Joel
Cressida Leyshon
Ed Lin
Jack Livings
Sarah Manguso
Michael Miller
Ed Park - Chairman
Nathaniel Rich
Elizabeth Ross
Whitney Terrell
Brooke Watkins
The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award was founded by Ethan Hawke, Jennifer Rudolph Walsh, Rick Moody, and Hannah McFarland. The Award is made possible by an endowment created with generous gifts from Russell Abrams, Nina Collins, Hannah and Gavin McFarland, Ethan Hawke, Stephan Loewentheil, Rick Moody, Andrea Olshan and Jennifer Rudolph Walsh.