Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Recommendations

A listing of book lists created just for you by our librarians. Also check out our regular Staff Picks, and subscribe to the Biblio File blog and biweekly podcast.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".

LGBTQ Books for the Youngest Readers

It’s never too early to read children books that speak to equality.

Novedades de Junio 2016: Novelas históricas para disfrutar campante del clima ¡refrescante!

En esta lista selectiva de nuevas novelas históricas, el lector se remontará al pasado para ser testigo de grandes pasiones y acontecimientos únicos en la historia, mientras disfruta leyendo campante del presente clima primaveral y ¡refrescante!

New York Times Read Alikes: June 12, 2016

If you are among the many readers who read one of these five titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, here are some suggestions for you.

Six Louise Erdrich Books You Should Check Out

Over the course of her four decades as a writer, Erdrich has entranced critics and readers alike with her expert, compassionate portraits of Native American life.

NYPL Recommends: New YA Comics & Graphic Novels

Our Best Books for Teens committee has been busy reading and reviewing 2016 titles. Here are a few of their favorite new comics and graphic novels.

The Natural World: A Reading List from Open Book Night

Books about hiking, evolution, human nature, dogs and cats, city parks and gardens, and classic fiction were among the titles readers recommended at our Open Book Night last month when we suggested the topic “the natural world.”

NYPL Recommends: New YA Fiction

Who would have imagined a trend in YA literature toward realistic, character-driven, and emotionally intense stories? If that is up your alley, we have some recommendations for you.

NYPL Recommends: New Picture Books - The Animal Edition

Our staff have been busy reading and reviewing this year's picture books. Here are a few of their favorites featuring animals to teach kids about, well, animals—but also some other important life lessons.

NYPL Recommends: New Picture Books

Our children's librarians have been busy reading and reviewing this year's picture books. Check out a few of their favorites.

Doubling Down on Angry Birds

When the Angry Birds movie hit theaters, we asked our NYPL recommendation experts to name their favorite books, movies, or TV shows that feature… well, angry birds.

New York Times Read Alikes: June 5, 2016

If you are among the many readers who bought and read one of these five titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, here are some suggestions for you.

For Fans of TV Series Fargo

Check out our list of offbeat, character-driven, intricately plotted, suspense novels set in the Midwest.

#FridayReads Roundup: For Fans of Fargo, Funny Pictures, Judging a Book By Its Cover, and A Celebrity Guest Star

Join us from 10-11 AM EDT for live reading recommendations on Twitter @NYPLRecommends!

Boarding-School Book Bonanza

Close quarters, no parental supervision, lots of teens, too-strict rules or no rules at all…no doubt, boarding schools are fertile ground for stories about burgeoning relationships and finding identity.

Audiobooks for Your Roadtrip, Commute, and Earbuds

When you have serious story-time nostalgia, sometimes the best bet to satisfy that craving is an audiobook. Buckle up, and enjoy the ride with a few of our favorite audiobooks.

Rainy Day Reads: A Hodgepodge

Why not spice up your rainy days with some great books?

Judging a Book by Its Title

Conventional wisdom aside, let’s be real: A lot of us decide whether we’re interested in reading a particular book by judging its cover—and its title, too.

New York Times Read Alikes: May 23, 2016

Here are some read alikes for the top five bestselling fiction titles this week.

Barnacles, Bugs, and Big Scary Teeth: Funny New Picture Books

This spring's newly published crop of picture books includes some laugh-out-loud funny installments.

Women Made Women Superheroes

Superheroes are all over the media these days. There is the Marvel series on Netflix. Captain America: Civil War, Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice, and X-Men Apocalypse are all competing for ticket sales in movie theaters across America. On TV, viewers can followThe Flash (CW), The Arrow (CW), and Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D (ABC).

Pages

Chat with a librarian now