Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Recommendations

A listing of book lists created just for you by our librarians. Also check out our regular Staff Picks, and subscribe to the Biblio File blog and biweekly podcast.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".

Books for Boys Who Think Books are Boring

An interview, a book list, and a discussion of author Jason Reynolds

NYPL Recommends: New YA

Our Best Books for Teens committee has been busy reading and reviewing 2016 titles. Below are a few of their favorite new comics and graphic novels.

A Salute to Goodnight Moon

Here are five more bedtime books that capture winding down, getting those little eyes to close and little ones to drift off to sleep.

Books for Fans of Adventure Time and Steven Universe

There are many other books in this vein featuring magic, adventure, and a style that will appeal to fans.

16 Harry Potter Readalikes... Because The Cursed Child Is Not Enough

It’s almost impossible to recreate the kind of world-building that J. K. Rowling achieved in her legendary Harry Potter series—which is why Harry Potter readalikes are the holy grail of book recommendations.

Book Pairings for Olympic Sports

Just as with fine wines and meals, you need the right book to pair with the right sport, and we have some suggestions.

Books in Chelsea Clinton’s DNC Speech

Her speech was relatively quick, but Clinton managed to mention multiple books and give a shout-out to the local library of her childhood.

Are You Getting the Whole Story? Beware the Filter Bubble

The "filter bubble": social media and exposure (or lack thereof) to differing viewpoints.

Literary Bad Boys

In honor of Heathcliff, we asked our book experts here at The New York Public Library: Who’s your favorite literary bad boy and why?

Cullman Center Recommends: 15 Books for Summer Reading

The Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers has had seventeen classes of fellows in residence at The New York Public Library. These gifted independent scholars, creative writers, academics, and visual artists have produced more than one hundred books since 1999, and we recommend fifteen of their recent titles for 2016 summer reading.

Read 20 Minutes a Day? Finish Moby-Dick before Fall

Twenty minutes a day. That's all it takes for kids and adults alike to avoid a summer reading slump... and, as it turns out, to read some really amazing books. So, with our Summer Reading Challenge in full swing, we decided to do a little math.

Picture Books for Working Moms

All moms are working hard all the time, and moms who work outside their homes could sometimes use a hand explaining their jobs to their kids and handling their separation anxiety. These picture books do just that.

New York Times Read Alikes: July 24, 2016

If you are among the many readers who read one of The New York Times top five fiction titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, we have some suggestions for you.

NYPL Recommends: New Nonfiction for Kids

Our staff have been busy reading and reviewing 2016 titles. Here are a few of their favorite new nonfiction books for children.

PokeBooks for Pokémon GO

As freely available public spaces, libraries hold a special position in the game. This list features books for readers of all ages that capture the experience of finding new things in your familiar surroundings.

New York Times Read Alikes: July 17, 2016

If you are among the many readers who read one of The New York Times top five fiction titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, here are some suggestions for you.

Microhistories and Their Microtitles

A somewhat recent and interesting approach to studying and writing about cultural and social history is the “microhistory.” We noticed a theme among microhistories: many have single word titles followed by a descriptive subtitle. Check out our list of microhistories and their microtitles.

When 'The Man' Wins

Inspired by a reader’s comment on our Angry Birds post, we’re thinking about books where the non-underdogs—a.k.a., those little round pigs with the helmets—wind up on top.

NYPL Recommends: New YA Comics & Graphic Novels

Check out our Best Books for Teens committee's favorite new comics and graphic novels.

Pages

Chat with a librarian now