Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Recommendations

A listing of book lists created just for you by our librarians. Also check out our regular Staff Picks, and subscribe to the Biblio File blog and biweekly podcast.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".

New York Times Read Alikes: October 2, 2016

Pirates and sheriffs make their way onto the bestseller list this week, with three newcomers in the top five.

Celebrating Hispanic Heritage!

Discover facts, stories, events, activities, and reading resources.

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans.

New York Times Bestseller Read Alikes: September 25, 2016

Three new titles enter the top five this week! If you are among the masses who read and enjoyed these bestsellers and are left wanting more, here are a few suggestions.

'Read with a Child': Remembering Anna Dewdney

Author and illustrator Anna Dewdney, who created more than 20 picture books about the Llama family and other memorable characters, died yesterday at 50.

The Ultimate Gilmore Girls Reading List

Here's a list of books that I'd recommend to the citizens of Stars Hollow if I were behind the reference desk at the SHPL.

New York Times Read Alikes: September 11, 2016

The Light Between Oceans popped back onto the bestseller list this week, after its movie adaptation opened in theaters across the country.

World Literature: A Reading List from Open Book Night

Readers recommended books from Norway to Egypt, and Japan to the Dominican Republic. Please share your favorite international reading with us in the comments section below.

New York Times Read Alikes: September 4, 2016

Readers just can't get enough of the girl on that train, as Paula Hawkins' thriller once again ascends to the No. 1 spot. Plus: new stories of suspense, historical fiction, and more.

6 Books for Kids about the Civil Rights Movement

Half a century after the Montgomery Bus Boycott that began with Rosa Parks, many authors of children’s literature are writing compelling middle-grade stories about the Civil Rights Movement in the 1950s and ’60s.

New York Times Read Alikes: August 28, 2016

Two new titles join this list this week: historical fiction about the Underground Railroad and the newest installment of a popular series of F.B.I. thrillers.

Books for Boys Who Think Books are Boring

An interview, a book list, and a discussion of author Jason Reynolds

New York Times Read Alikes: August 21, 2016

Cozy small towns, private investigators, girls on trains... this week's list has a bit of everything, including a new J Patt thriller debuting in the No. 1 spot.

NYPL Recommends: New YA

Our Best Books for Teens committee has been busy reading and reviewing 2016 titles. Below are a few of their favorite new comics and graphic novels.

A Salute to Goodnight Moon

Here are five more bedtime books that capture winding down, getting those little eyes to close and little ones to drift off to sleep.

Books for Fans of Adventure Time and Steven Universe

There are many other books in this vein featuring magic, adventure, and a style that will appeal to fans.

16 Harry Potter Readalikes... Because The Cursed Child Is Not Enough

It’s almost impossible to recreate the kind of world-building that J. K. Rowling achieved in her legendary Harry Potter series—which is why Harry Potter readalikes are the holy grail of book recommendations.

Book Pairings for Olympic Sports

Just as with fine wines and meals, you need the right book to pair with the right sport, and we have some suggestions.

Books in Chelsea Clinton’s DNC Speech

Her speech was relatively quick, but Clinton managed to mention multiple books and give a shout-out to the local library of her childhood.

Are You Getting the Whole Story? Beware the Filter Bubble

The "filter bubble": social media and exposure (or lack thereof) to differing viewpoints.

Pages