Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Recommendations

A listing of book lists created just for you by our librarians. Also check out our regular Staff Picks, and subscribe to the Biblio File blog and biweekly podcast.

Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".
Leave blank for all. Otherwise, the first selected term will be the default instead of "Any".

Best Books for Kids 2016: 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing

This annual list is a century-old tradition in which The New York Public Library’s book experts select 100 noteworthy children's titles from categories including: picture books, young readers, fiction, graphic novels, folklore & fairy tales, poetry, and nonfiction.

New York Times Read Alikes: December 4, 2016

'Tis the season for suspense: bounty hunters, the Army, the F.B.I., the C.I.A., forensics, and judicial corruption.

Horrifying Tales: A Reading List from Open Book Night

October’s Open Book Night took place on one of the most bone-chilling days we have had this year.

New York Times Read Alikes: November 6, 2016

Wanting more gritty or intricately plotted suspense, more mysteries told from multiple perspectives, or more stories about families? We have some read alikes for you.

Spooky Halloween Reads

Decorate your bookshelves this Halloween with spooky novels.

NYPL Recommends: Book Club Books

We asked our book expert staff what books have worked well in the book clubs they host in library branches across the city.

7 Books That Will Haunt You Like a Ghost

A list of seven books that will haunt you long after you finish the last line.

Game Changers: A Reading List from Open Book Night

This list of game changers focuses on anything and everything that made readers think differently about the book they were read or the books they may read in the future.

New York Times Read Alikes: October 16, 2016

If you read and enjoyed any of these bestselling titles, or you are waiting in queue, here are a few read alikes. There is never a reason to leave a library empty handed.

Not-So-Scary Monsters: A Book List for Littles

Are you looking for some reads that won't give your little people the frights? Monsters aren't always scary; in fact, sometimes they are silly and sweet. Check out a few of my favorite not-so-scary monsters stories.

NYPL Favorites for Comic Con

Nerds of all stripes are gearing up for New York Comic Con, which begins Oct. 6 and runs through the weekend. Many of us at NYPL are especially excited, because the first day of the conference focuses on comic books, graphic novels, and manga.

New York Times Read Alikes: October 9, 2016

Romantic urban fantasy, gritty mysteries, and tales of amateur detectives... three more newcomers on the list this week!

Celebrando el mes de la Herencia Hispana: Biografías

En honor del "mes de la Herencia Hispana", presentamos a continuación una selección de biografías recientes que esperamos sea de su agrado.

Celebrating Hispanic Heritage!

Discover facts, stories, events, activities, and reading resources.

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans.

'Read with a Child': Remembering Anna Dewdney

Author and illustrator Anna Dewdney, who created more than 20 picture books about the Llama family and other memorable characters, died yesterday at 50.

The Ultimate Gilmore Girls Reading List

Here's a list of books that I'd recommend to the citizens of Stars Hollow if I were behind the reference desk at the SHPL.

World Literature: A Reading List from Open Book Night

Readers recommended books from Norway to Egypt, and Japan to the Dominican Republic. Please share your favorite international reading with us in the comments section below.

6 Books for Kids about the Civil Rights Movement

Half a century after the Montgomery Bus Boycott that began with Rosa Parks, many authors of children’s literature are writing compelling middle-grade stories about the Civil Rights Movement in the 1950s and ’60s.

New York Times Read Alikes: August 28, 2016

Two new titles join this list this week: historical fiction about the Underground Railroad and the newest installment of a popular series of F.B.I. thrillers.

Pages

Chat with a librarian now