Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Blogs

Illuminating collections and services at The New York Public Library
Learn more »

Preview this page in our new blog design

Black Lives Black Motorists

Within our contemporary climate of #BlackLivesMatter, The Green Book guides deserve continued discussion of their value as not only a practical travel resource for their time, but also as a survival guide. Read More ›

Job and Employment Links for the Week of September 25

Career fairs and recruitment events for the week ahead.Read More ›

Resource and Career Fair for Entrepreneurial Performing Artists at SIBL September 30

Hear about the latest programs and services from a cross section of NY metro area entrepreneurial resources to help you with your small business, production, career or artistic endeavor.Read More ›

Found Staten Island Stories 3: Buffalo Bill's Wild West, Mariners' Harbor, 1886 and 1888

This is the third in a series of of posts highlighting some of the fascinating stories from the historical Staten Island newspapers now being digitized and uploaded to the web.  Find out more about this project at 

... Read More ›

NYPL #FridayReads: The Before Game of Thrones Edition September 23, 2016

During the week, it can be tough to stay on top of everything. On Fridays, though, we suggest kicking back to catch up on all the delightful literary reading the internet has to offer. Don’t have the time to hunt for good reads? Never fear. We’ve rounded up the best bookish reading of the week for you.Read More ›

Sharing Stories with Regina Ress

Two upcoming programs at Mid-Manhattan featuring master storyteller Regina Ress: Compassion, Generosity and Grace: Stories from 9/11 and Healing Voices-Personal Stories: Films and A Panel Discussion on Domestic Violence.Read More ›

J. Rosamond Johnson and "Lift Every Voice"

The National Museum of African American History & Culture opens on September 24, 2016. The Smithsonian has decided to name the celebration “Lift Every Voice,” borrowing the phrase from the song known as America’s Black National Anthem.Read More ›

10 Great Picture Books about Diverse Children and Families

Here are some picture books that can help children appreciate and understand how people and families can be different, and, at the same time, share the same universal value: love. Read More ›

Fall Staff Picks Have Arrived!

It may not feel like fall here in New York, but our newest round of Staff Picks is ready for the season to begin!Read More ›

Quiz: Which Of These Are Not Stephen King Novels?

Stephen King has published over 50 novels since 1974. How well do you know his extensive list of books? See if you can spot the fake titles in this quiz.Read More ›

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans. Read More ›

Ep. 46 "Reading Is the Greatest Thing in the World" | Library Stories

Getting free help with homework can make a big difference in a child's life.Read More ›

Romantic Interests: Celebrating 30 Years of the Pforzheimer Collection at NYPL

Featuring over a dozen treasures from the Collection, the exhibit includes the manuscript of Percy Bysshe Shelley’s first known extant poem, a lock of Mary Shelley’s hair, and a preliminary design for Lord Byron’s yacht. Read More ›

New York Comic Con at the New York Public Library

The New York Public Library in partnership with First Second and New York Comic Con (NYCC) present two #NYCC2016 events October 7 and 8—a comics panel for adults and one all-ages..Read More ›

BBB Live Consumer Education Program: Bilingual Volunteers Needed

Fully bilingual Spanish-English speaking volunteers are needed to help callers on Wednesday, November 16, 2016.Read More ›

Podcast #130: Alan Cumming on Memory, Gore Vidal, and Monica Lewinsky

Alan Cumming is one of the great character actors alive today. He is also the author of Tommy's Tale: A Novel and Not my Father's Son: A Memoir. His newest book is called You Gotta Get Bigger Dreams, a collection of photographs and essays. Read More ›

NYPL Now: Events at the Library September 19-October 3, 2016

Welcome to NYPL Now, a biweekly update on events happening during the next two weeks at the Library. We're highlighting some of our events—including author talks, free classes, community art shows, performances, concerts, and exhibitions—and you can always find more at We look forward to seeing you at the Library.Read More ›

Disposessing Loyalists and Redistributing Property in Revolutionary New York

A recently digitized item sheds light on the profound social upheaval caused by the American Revolution in New York.Read More ›

New York Times Bestseller Read Alikes: September 25, 2016

Three new titles enter the top five this week! If you are among the masses who read and enjoyed these bestsellers and are left wanting more, here are a few suggestions. Read More ›

Finding George R.R. Martin's Earliest Work

What many may not realize is that before becoming a household name in fantasy, Martin began as a science fiction writer, also dabbling in other genres like horror. Finding these early works can be challenging because Martin’s short stories, novellas, and novelettes were often published in pulp magazines.Read More ›
Previous Page 5 of 354 Next

Chat with a librarian now