Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Blogs

Illuminating collections and services at The New York Public Library
Learn more »

Preview this page in our new blog design

Fall Staff Picks Have Arrived!

It may not feel like fall here in New York, but our newest round of Staff Picks is ready for the season to begin!Read More ›

Quiz: Which Of These Are Not Stephen King Novels?

Stephen King has published over 50 novels since 1974. How well do you know his extensive list of books? See if you can spot the fake titles in this quiz.Read More ›

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans. Read More ›

Ep. 46 "Reading Is the Greatest Thing in the World" | Library Stories

Getting free help with homework can make a big difference in a child's life.Read More ›

Romantic Interests: Celebrating 30 Years of the Pforzheimer Collection at NYPL

Featuring over a dozen treasures from the Collection, the exhibit includes the manuscript of Percy Bysshe Shelley’s first known extant poem, a lock of Mary Shelley’s hair, and a preliminary design for Lord Byron’s yacht. Read More ›

New York Comic Con at the New York Public Library

The New York Public Library in partnership with First Second and New York Comic Con (NYCC) present two #NYCC2016 events October 7 and 8—a comics panel for adults and one all-ages..Read More ›

BBB Live Consumer Education Program: Bilingual Volunteers Needed

Fully bilingual Spanish-English speaking volunteers are needed to help callers on Wednesday, November 16, 2016.Read More ›

Podcast #130: Alan Cumming on Memory, Gore Vidal, and Monica Lewinsky

Alan Cumming is one of the great character actors alive today. He is also the author of Tommy's Tale: A Novel and Not my Father's Son: A Memoir. His newest book is called You Gotta Get Bigger Dreams, a collection of photographs and essays. Read More ›

NYPL Now: Events at the Library September 19-October 3, 2016

Welcome to NYPL Now, a biweekly update on events happening during the next two weeks at the Library. We're highlighting some of our events—including author talks, free classes, community art shows, performances, concerts, and exhibitions—and you can always find more at We look forward to seeing you at the Library.Read More ›

Disposessing Loyalists and Redistributing Property in Revolutionary New York

A recently digitized item sheds light on the profound social upheaval caused by the American Revolution in New York.Read More ›

New York Times Bestseller Read Alikes: September 25, 2016

Three new titles enter the top five this week! If you are among the masses who read and enjoyed these bestsellers and are left wanting more, here are a few suggestions. Read More ›

Finding George R.R. Martin's Earliest Work

What many may not realize is that before becoming a household name in fantasy, Martin began as a science fiction writer, also dabbling in other genres like horror. Finding these early works can be challenging because Martin’s short stories, novellas, and novelettes were often published in pulp magazines.Read More ›

Attack of the Killer Bs: B-Movies and Cult Films

Watching a bad movie doesn't always have to be a bad experience. Do you like films that are tacky, silly or just plain weird? These titles were made for you.Read More ›

Remembering Edward Albee

On September 16, 2016, the playwright Edward Albee died in Montauk, New York. He will be remembered for his contributions to American drama, particularly Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf which was, in 1963 recommended to the Pulitzer Prize committee and rejected on the grounds of vulgarity. Read More ›

It's Positively Medieval!

If you enjoy watching the Game of Thrones or reading historical fiction, or simply wish to know more about the tumultuous events of the period, check out these medieval titles.Read More ›

Job and Employment Links for the Week of September 19

Career fairs and recruitment events for the week ahead.Read More ›

¡Celebre el mes de inscripción para tarjetas de la biblioteca con NYPL!

Septiembre es el Mes de inscripción para tarjetas de la biblioteca.Read More ›

Brainy and Brave: A Salute to Hermione Granger

There can only ever be one Hermione, but these other brainy, brave heroines from young-adult and middle-grade fiction remind us of her in some important ways.Read More ›

NYPL #FridayReads: The All the Prizes Edition September 16, 2016

During the week, it can be tough to stay on top of everything. On Fridays, though, we suggest kicking back to catch up on all the delightful literary reading the internet has to offer. Don’t have the time to hunt for good reads? Never fear. We’ve rounded up the best bookish reading of the week for you.Read More ›

Winnie-the-Podcast: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 21

Eeyore, Tigger, Kanga, and Roo join Frank and Gwen in the studio this week... just kidding. But we have the next best thing: Michael Inman, curator of NYPL's Rare Book Division, who tells us about the restoration of the Library's historic Winnie-the-Pooh dolls. Plus: children's and YA books galore, and queens of all kinds.Read More ›
Previous Page 5 of 354 Next

Chat with a librarian now