Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

NYPL Blogs

Illuminating collections and services at The New York Public Library
Learn more »

Preview this page in our new blog design

Beloved Asian American Literature You Have to Read

When I was asked by The New York Public Library to compile a list of my favorite books by Asian American authors, I enthusiastically agreed; I’ve read so many heartbreaking, intelligent, and thoughtful books over the years by Asian American writers, and I couldn’t wait to share them with NYPL’s readers. But then as I sat down to write my recommendations, I began to agonize.Read More ›

Go West, Fair Readers

What makes a “modern Western”? In honor of Larry McMurtry’s birthday, we asked our book experts here at the New York Public Library to answer that question — and to name a book they’d recommend that fit into that category.Read More ›

Podcast #166: Journalism in the Age of Trump, part 2

This week's episode features a conversation between Katherine Boo, Anand Giridharadas, and Philip Gourevitch, who are all past winners of the Library’s Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism. The three speakers picked up the conversation that we began back in February on the shifting responsibilities, purposes, and even definitions of journalism.Read More ›

NYPL Events: What's Happening 5/29-6/12

Welcome to our biweekly update on events happening during the next two weeks at The New York Public Library. With 92 locations across New York City, a lot is happening at the Library. We're highlighting some of our events here—including author talks, free classes, community art shows, performances, concerts, and exhibitions.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New & Notable: Little Gems

There is something special about a 200-250 page book. The story has a tight scope, the writing is often spare and concise, and the experience of reading it is discrete and memorable. Here are a few little gems we recommend. Read More ›

For the Love of Riverdale: Read-a-likes for Your Favorite TV Show

An all-American teen is dead, a small town full of secrets and suspects. What could have happened to a teen with the seemingly perfect life? What secrets were they hiding? Someone better find out the truth before another person turns up dead. If this sounds familiar, you may be a fan of Riverdale. Read More ›

A Manhattanhenge Reading List

Manhattanhenge is coming next week, and we’ve made a reading list to celebrate! Read More ›

Job and Employment Links for the Week of May 28

Find career development workshops, job listings, free job training programs and more.Read More ›

NYPL #FridayReads: The Talk About Vintage Wine Edition May 26, 2017

During the week, it can be tough to stay on top of everything. On Fridays, though, we suggest kicking back to catch up on all the delightful literary reading the internet has to offer. Don’t have the time to hunt for good reads? Never fear. We've rounded up the best bookish reading of the week for you.Read More ›

Some Hope for S.: Suicide Prevention Resources

When a woman handed me a note that she found folded up inside one of our books and said, “I think you’ll want to read this,” I had no idea what to expect. I definitely didn’t expect to read a note that managed to be so simultaneously tragic and uplifting.Read More ›

Dark, Light, & In Between: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 41

We're swinging from heavy, major, important nonfiction to the frothiest and most delightful YA romance this week. Plus: Frank and Gwen make the producer thankful for his upcoming vacation.Read More ›

May 2017 International Fiction Bestsellers

This month we checked out fiction bestsellers in Belgium, Brazil, Finland, Peru, and Taiwan and found a mixture of novels by local authors, translations of international bestsellers, and some poetry.Read More ›

My Favorite Quotes from Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything tells the story of Madeline, a young teen who has a rare condition called Severe Combined Immunodeficiency (SCID). Read More ›

三本小说 || Three Fiction books

最近看了三本小说,文笔简洁,故事紧凑。千丝万缕的情节,娓娓道来,令我爱不释手。 Read More ›

Ep. 75 "I Might Not Ever Get a Shot Again" | Library Stories

Find out how one immigrant helps others learn to read and is going to college, with a boost from The New York Public Library.Read More ›

#ThisPlaceMatters: Preservation Month Resources

May is Preservation Month! I know, there are only a few days left, but you can celebrate Preservation Month all year long with great books and other resources from The New York Public Library.Read More ›

Podcast #165: Jane Mayer, Winner of the 2017 Bernstein Award

Is the Trump Administration a dream or a nightmare for the Koch brothers? Are cats more intrinsically valuable than people? Answering many questions about the intricate relationship between money and politics in American life with Jane Mayer, a New Yorker staff writer and author of Dark Money (2017 winner of NYPL's Bernstein Award).Read More ›

Booktalking "Everything, Everything" by Nicola Yoon

All Madeleine has ever known is life inside of her house with her nurse, Carla and her mother. Until Olly moved next door, that is.Read More ›

10 Reasons Teens Love the Mulberry Street Library

In honor of Mulberry's 10th birthday, we asked the teens in our weekly teen lounge why they love the library.Read More ›

Ep. 74 "A Bastion of Fact and Truth" | Library Stories

A journalist and author who won the Library's Bernstein award talks about the importance of supporting fact and evidence. Read More ›
Previous Page 4 of 382 Next

Subscribe to NYPL Blogs RSS Feeds