Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Blog Posts by Subject: Teen and Young Adult Literature

Think You're Too Old for Picture Books? Think Again!

Written with Elisa Garcia. November celebrates National Picture Book Month and will be recognized in many children’s sections of libraries across the city. At Bronx Library Center, we'll also celebrate graphic novels, comic books, and manga. We hope you’ll join us!Read More ›

Stitched Together, Torn Apart: Frankenstein in Teen Fiction

Several months ago I was reading a copy of This Monstrous Thing by Lee Mackenzi, an unusual steampunk kind of story that was set in the Frankenstein universe. Then I heard about another book called Teen Frankenstein, and I thought ... wait a minute ...Read More ›

Olivia's 8 Hot Books for a Cool Summer

Olivia is an avid reader and patron of the Mulberry Street Library. As part of a school internship program she put together this summer vacation book list and book display for the library. Read More ›

For the Love of Riverdale: Read-a-likes for Your Favorite TV Show

An all-American teen is dead, a small town full of secrets and suspects. What could have happened to a teen with the seemingly perfect life? What secrets were they hiding? Someone better find out the truth before another person turns up dead. If this sounds familiar, you may be a fan of Riverdale. Read More ›

10 Reasons Teens Love the Mulberry Street Library

In honor of Mulberry's 10th birthday, we asked the teens in our weekly teen lounge why they love the library.Read More ›

TeenLIVE: Gene Luen Yang on Comics and Reading Without Walls

Gene Luen Yang is the current National Ambassador for Young People's Literature. We were lucky enough to have him join us for a conversation about comics and his Reading Without Walls challenge.Read More ›

NYC Teen Author Festival 2017

I love attending the annual NYC Teen Author Festival, and, as usual, this year's program did not disappoint.Read More ›

Some Thoughts on Career Day, and Why I Became a Librarian

Many people who’ve known me for years don’t know that I had several big turning points and life-changing moments when I was young that started me on the path to becoming a librarian. But if you’ve ever seen one of my Career Day presentations, you know all about those turning points, because I always start by sharing those stories.Read More ›

The Hottest 2017 YA Books, So Far

Looking for a something new to read? Check out these 2017 YA books!Read More ›

Curiouser and Curiouser: The World of Wonderland in YA Fiction

I recently finished reading Heartless by Marissa Meyer, and when I finished the book I didn’t want the story to be over. This novel about how a girl grew up to become the diabolical Red Queen made me want to take a deep dive back into the world of Wonderland. Read More ›

Top Teen Tearjerkers of 2016

Serving on a book committee can be hard work. One of the most challenging aspects for me of choosing books for the Best Books For Teens list wasn’t all the reading, but all the crying. Seriously, though, there were a LOT of heart-wrenching books for teens this year. Read More ›

10 More Best Books for Teens 2016

The 2016 Best Books for Teens is a great list, but there are books I love that didn’t make the final cut. So to make sure these awesome books get their due, here are 10 fiction books I think should’ve made the list.Read More ›

Talking with Teens about Bullying, Cyberbullying, and Online Safety

Several weeks ago, I fully intended to have the topic of our Teen Advisory Group meeting be Banned Books Week. But our conversation took a detour, and soon we were talking about bullying and cyberbullying in fiction and in real life. It wasn’t the way I expected the conversation to go, but I’m glad it did.Read More ›

Voting is open for YALSA's Teens' Top Ten!

Big news! Voting opened this week for the Teens' Top Ten! The TTT is an annual teen choice award organized by the Young Adult Library Services Association, with books nominated by teen book clubs across the country and the winners chosen by you! Teen librarians everywhere use the annual top ten list to make recommendations and collection development decisions, so if you want to help the books you love get noticed, now's your chance. Read as many of the nominees as interest you and

... Read More ›

Thirteen YA Novels That Will Bend Your Mind

Some of my favorite YA novels are books that challenge me, that pull my brain in different directions, and make me think, “What the hell just happened?”. Sometimes, it’s because the narrators are choosing not to tell us the whole story, or because for some reason they can’t tell us the whole story. Sometimes, it’s because the author writes the story in such a way that it takes readers a while to figure out what’s going on. Here are thirteen YA novels that will take your brain in unexpected directions! Read More ›

Not-So Innocents Abroad: 10 YA Mysteries and Thrillers for the Dog Days of Summer

Novels filled with thrills, action, suspense, murder, romance and all set in exotic and romantic locations around the world—perfect reads for the last days of summer.Read More ›

Wolf, Iron, and Blood: An Alternate History YA Duology from Ryan Graudin

What if Hitler won World War II? Alternate history recommendations for teen readers.Read More ›

Boys of Summer: 15 YA Romances You'll Totally Fall For

Every summer I put together a list of my favorite teen romance novels—new and old—to read during those lazy summer days. It always has a theme, but this year I’m keeping it simple.Read More ›

Staying Safe and Having Fun With Pokémon GO

I sprayed myself with sunblock, dressed comfortably for walking, and packed water, an iPod for listening to podcasts, and an extra battery for my iPhone. Then I headed to Inwood Hill Park to see if I could catch ‘em all. Or, at least, I’d see if I could catch more than usual …Read More ›

Young Adult Beach Reads

Coney Island, Rockaway Beach, Jersey Shore… summer is all about the beach! And no beach bag is complete without an immersive beach read.Read More ›
Page 1 of 22 Next