Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Posts from Mulberry Street Library

Books with Autumnal Witchy Vibes

Since we could all probably use a little hocus pocus in our lives, here is a list of books filled with witches, romance, magic, and autumn leaves.Read More ›

Meet the Artist - Yuko K.

Feel the need to be wowed by wide open spaces and awe inspiring landscapes? Even if you can't travel out West this summer, artist Yuko K. has brought back a little piece of magic from Monument Valley for your visual enjoyment. We spoke about her recent trip.Read More ›

Very British (& Scottish) Romances

Romance is the only genre where you essentially know the ending: two people will end up together. The who, what, where, and how of the story, however, are all up for grabs.Read More ›

Olivia's 8 Hot Books for a Cool Summer

Olivia is an avid reader and patron of the Mulberry Street Library. As part of a school internship program she put together this summer vacation book list and book display for the library. Read More ›

For the Love of Riverdale: Read-a-likes for Your Favorite TV Show

An all-American teen is dead, a small town full of secrets and suspects. What could have happened to a teen with the seemingly perfect life? What secrets were they hiding? Someone better find out the truth before another person turns up dead. If this sounds familiar, you may be a fan of Riverdale. Read More ›

10 Reasons Teens Love the Mulberry Street Library

In honor of Mulberry's 10th birthday, we asked the teens in our weekly teen lounge why they love the library.Read More ›

13 Romance Novels Set in Cornwall

Cornwall is a never-ending feast for the eyes: here are 13 romance novels guaranteed to transport you to those dream-laden shores.Read More ›

10 More Best Books for Teens 2016

The 2016 Best Books for Teens is a great list, but there are books I love that didn’t make the final cut. So to make sure these awesome books get their due, here are 10 fiction books I think should’ve made the list.Read More ›

Hitchcock-ian Reads

It's the birthday of Alfred Hitchcock. To honor the Master of Suspense, our crackerjack team of book experts came up with a list of books that would do him proud: psychological suspense novels that give readers the same creepy, think-y thrill as watching his movies... and feature twists that no one saw coming.Read More ›

Not-So Innocents Abroad: 10 YA Mysteries and Thrillers for the Dog Days of Summer

Novels filled with thrills, action, suspense, murder, romance and all set in exotic and romantic locations around the world—perfect reads for the last days of summer.Read More ›

Boys of Summer: 15 YA Romances You'll Totally Fall For

Every summer I put together a list of my favorite teen romance novels—new and old—to read during those lazy summer days. It always has a theme, but this year I’m keeping it simple.Read More ›

Remembering the Chills and Thrills of Lois Duncan, YA Lit Icon

Pioneering Young Adult author, Lois Duncan passed away on June 6th at the age of 82. It's hard to believe that it's been almost 30 - 45 years since many of her teen novels were first published and they continue to have the power to spark the imagination and send shivers down the spine. If you haven't read one yet or read one lately, now's your chance. Read More ›

Doubling Down on Angry Birds

When the Angry Birds movie hit theaters, we asked our NYPL recommendation experts to name their favorite books, movies, or TV shows that feature… well, angry birds.Read More ›

Meet the Artists: Ann Schaumburger and Michael Pellettieri

A collaborative exhibition Paintings by Ann Schaumburger and Paintings and Prints by Michael Pellettieri will be on view at the Mulberry Street Library from April 7–21, 2016. I spoke with the artists recently about their work.Read More ›

Feminist YA Fiction

Novels that feature strong, female characters who either confront sexism, defy the patriarchal order, subvert gender expectations or celebrate female solidarity, or all of the above.Read More ›

Meet Ner Beck: Found Faces Photographer

A surprised looking bathtub, a quixotic building column, and a pipe that looks like it might go “meow!”Read More ›

Librarians on ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’

Personal reflections on Harper Lee's first (and until now, only) novel.Read More ›

Meet the Artist: Yuko K.

What's that ruckus we've been hearing in the Children's Room lately? A herd of elephants doing yoga?! Read More ›

Our YA Movie Wishlist

Hollywood has officially gone YA, and blockbusters that started as young-adult fiction abound. So, we asked our team of expert librarians for their wishlists: What’s a YA book you’d like to see turned into a movie, and whom would you cast in the leading role?Read More ›

#TeamEdith: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 3

We talk about how to fit more reading into busy schedules, Lin-Manuel Miranda, horror books and movies, childhood favorites, David Bowie, Lin-Manuel Miranda again, and our love for Downton Abbey’s kind Anna and unstoppable Edith.Read More ›
Page 1 of 10 Next