Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Posts by Anne Rouyer

We Need a Little Christmas: Cozy Holiday Reads

Here's a list of books filled with Christmas miracles, opposites attracting, lovers reuniting, families reconciling, happily ever afters, mysteries being solved and villains being vanquished—plus lots of snow and holiday merriment! Read More ›

Americans in World War One: History & Stories

World War I is called "The Great War" but in America it could also be called "The Forgotten War." We started celebrating Veteran’s Day on November 11, 1919 as a way to commemorate the day that hostilities in World War I ended.Read More ›

Books with Autumnal Witchy Vibes

Since we could all probably use a little hocus pocus in our lives, here is a list of books filled with witches, romance, magic, and autumn leaves.Read More ›

Very British (& Scottish) Romances

Romance is the only genre where you essentially know the ending: two people will end up together. The who, what, where, and how of the story, however, are all up for grabs.Read More ›

Life, Liberty, & Romance

The American Revolution was a turbulent time in American history, with great potential for romance as well as trauma. War, divided loyalties, danger around every corner, spies, intrigue, remote homes and forts, decadent Georgian society, men in uniform, women in corsets and dresses that leave little to the imagination, cozy fires to cuddle by... you get the picture. And we’ve found a handful of novels to make your July 4 that much more patriotic and passionate.Read More ›

Olivia's 8 Hot Books for a Cool Summer

Olivia is an avid reader and patron of the Mulberry Street Library. As part of a school internship program she put together this summer vacation book list and book display for the library. Read More ›

For the Love of Riverdale: Read-a-likes for Your Favorite TV Show

An all-American teen is dead, a small town full of secrets and suspects. What could have happened to a teen with the seemingly perfect life? What secrets were they hiding? Someone better find out the truth before another person turns up dead. If this sounds familiar, you may be a fan of Riverdale. Read More ›

10 Reasons Teens Love the Mulberry Street Library

In honor of Mulberry's 10th birthday, we asked the teens in our weekly teen lounge why they love the library.Read More ›

13 Romance Novels Set in Cornwall

Cornwall is a never-ending feast for the eyes: here are 13 romance novels guaranteed to transport you to those dream-laden shores.Read More ›

10 More Best Books for Teens 2016

The 2016 Best Books for Teens is a great list, but there are books I love that didn’t make the final cut. So to make sure these awesome books get their due, here are 10 fiction books I think should’ve made the list.Read More ›

Not-So Innocents Abroad: 10 YA Mysteries and Thrillers for the Dog Days of Summer

Novels filled with thrills, action, suspense, murder, romance and all set in exotic and romantic locations around the world—perfect reads for the last days of summer.Read More ›

Boys of Summer: 15 YA Romances You'll Totally Fall For

Every summer I put together a list of my favorite teen romance novels—new and old—to read during those lazy summer days. It always has a theme, but this year I’m keeping it simple.Read More ›

Remembering the Chills and Thrills of Lois Duncan, YA Lit Icon

Pioneering Young Adult author, Lois Duncan passed away on June 6th at the age of 82. It's hard to believe that it's been almost 30 - 45 years since many of her teen novels were first published and they continue to have the power to spark the imagination and send shivers down the spine. If you haven't read one yet or read one lately, now's your chance. Read More ›

Feminist YA Fiction

Novels that feature strong, female characters who either confront sexism, defy the patriarchal order, subvert gender expectations or celebrate female solidarity, or all of the above.Read More ›

Best Books for Teens 2015: Our Top 10 Favorites!

It’s time for the second annual NYPL Best Books for Teens list! Get ready for the most memorable, the most gut-wrenching, the most exciting, the most fun, the most swoony, the most informative and the most engaging books of the year.Read More ›

Paranoia, the Devil, and Witchcraft: Books on the Salem Witch Trials

Why did this happen and how could it have happened? You’ll have to read the accounts, the theories and stories and figure that part out for yourself. The following are recommended nonfiction and fiction books on the topic from children’s, YA and adult collections.Read More ›

10 New YA Romances That Will Give You Feels

I've rated the following books by the amount of swooning involved and the magnitude of life lessons.Read More ›

So You've Read "Paper Towns," Now What?

Here are other books filled with friends, road trips, elusive and mysterious dream girls (and dream boys) who force us out of our comfort zones and universal truths about life, love and living in the moment.Read More ›

Books About Transgender Issues for Teens

Teen literature spends a good proportion of its existence taking on tough topics, shedding light on what it means to be different and how we strive to become our most authentic selves. So it should come as a surprise to no one that teen lit has been showcasing the courageous, true and fictional, stories of transgender teens, teens struggling with gender identity and teens dealing with transgender friends and family members for years. Read More ›

A Summer of "Rogues" and Romance

If you’re Regency romance fan and have yet to read a Company of Rogues novel by Jo Beverley, then boy do I have a summer challenge/project for you! Read More ›
Page 1 of 4 Next