Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Posts by Anne Rouyer

Not-So Innocents Abroad: 10 YA Mysteries and Thrillers for the Dog Days of Summer

Novels filled with thrills, action, suspense, murder, romance and all set in exotic and romantic locations around the world—perfect reads for the last days of summer.Read More ›

Boys of Summer: 15 YA Romances You'll Totally Fall For

Every summer I put together a list of my favorite teen romance novels—new and old—to read during those lazy summer days. It always has a theme, but this year I’m keeping it simple.Read More ›

Remembering the Chills and Thrills of Lois Duncan, YA Lit Icon

Pioneering Young Adult author, Lois Duncan passed away on June 6th at the age of 82. It's hard to believe that it's been almost 30 - 45 years since many of her teen novels were first published and they continue to have the power to spark the imagination and send shivers down the spine. If you haven't read one yet or read one lately, now's your chance. Read More ›

Feminist YA Fiction

Novels that feature strong, female characters who either confront sexism, defy the patriarchal order, subvert gender expectations or celebrate female solidarity, or all of the above.Read More ›

Best Books for Teens 2015: Our Top 10 Favorites!

It’s time for the second annual NYPL Best Books for Teens list! Get ready for the most memorable, the most gut-wrenching, the most exciting, the most fun, the most swoony, the most informative and the most engaging books of the year.Read More ›

Paranoia, the Devil, and Witchcraft: Books on the Salem Witch Trials

Why did this happen and how could it have happened? You’ll have to read the accounts, the theories and stories and figure that part out for yourself. The following are recommended nonfiction and fiction books on the topic from children’s, YA and adult collections.Read More ›

10 New YA Romances That Will Give You Feels

I've rated the following books by the amount of swooning involved and the magnitude of life lessons.Read More ›

So You've Read "Paper Towns," Now What?

Here are other books filled with friends, road trips, elusive and mysterious dream girls (and dream boys) who force us out of our comfort zones and universal truths about life, love and living in the moment.Read More ›

Books About Transgender Issues for Teens

Teen literature spends a good proportion of its existence taking on tough topics, shedding light on what it means to be different and how we strive to become our most authentic selves. So it should come as a surprise to no one that teen lit has been showcasing the courageous, true and fictional, stories of transgender teens, teens struggling with gender identity and teens dealing with transgender friends and family members for years. Read More ›

A Summer of "Rogues" and Romance

If you’re Regency romance fan and have yet to read a Company of Rogues novel by Jo Beverley, then boy do I have a summer challenge/project for you! Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

How did YA Become YA?

“Why is it called YA anyway? And who decided what was YA and what wasn’t?” The short answer: librarians.Read More ›

Waiting for "Downton Abbey" 2015!

It’s going to be rough wait, but we will do it together and somehow find other books and films to fill the Downton-sized hole in our hearts.Read More ›

Waiting for "Outlander"

Way way back, in 1990, I wandered into a Portland, Oregon bookstore and found a romance novel, set in Scotland, involving time travel and I was hooked! Since then, it’s been a 25 year odyssey of reading and waiting. Outlander finally returns to TV on April 4.Read More ›

The Legacy of Kurt Cobain and Nirvana in YA Fiction

In the rain soaked Seattle of the early '90s, grunge rock was the soundtrack to our lives and Kurt and Nirvana were at its center. Twenty one years on, his legacy continues in two recent YA books Carnival at Bray and Love Letters to the Dead. Both books examine the power of music and words to bring people together, inspire us and give us hope.Read More ›

Thrills, Chills and Romance: The New Gothic Genre

Do you shiver at the thought of winds whistling down the Yorkshire moors and waves crashing against the Cornish coast? Wrap yourself up in one of these cozy gothic romance titles.Read More ›

The Legacy of Walter Dean Myers

What made Walter Dean Myers stand out was his tireless belief that the telling and reading of all kinds of stories mattered, that teens mattered, communities and families mattered, and that libraries and librarians mattered.Read More ›

A Sucker for Romance: 2014 YA Books Guaranteed to Make You Swoon!

Romance titles that didn't make our Top 25, but that will still make your heart go pitter-pat.Read More ›

Best Books for Teens 2014!

The list includes a selection of 25 novels, non-fiction books, and graphic novels chosen by a committee of Young Adult librarians who work with teens in NYPL’s neighborhood branches. Read More ›

Four by One Direction: A Track by Track (Sort of) Review

A track by track review of their new album, by a “1D AF.”Read More ›
Page 1 of 4 Next

Chat with a librarian now