Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Posts by Lynn Lobash

The Ultimate Thriller Guide

All thrillers are suspenseful, compelling, and intensifying, but the genre runs both broad and deep.Read More ›

7 Books About Twins For the Carters

Here are seven books about twins for Beyonce, Jay-Z, and Blue Ivy...and the rest of us. Watch out Blue Ivy, everything is about to change! Read More ›

RoboTakeover at NYPL!

Come join us for RoboTakeover at NYPL, a hands-on robotics workshop for kids, at a branch near you. Read More ›

True Stories of Refugees

Two recent works of longform journalism about the plight of refugees that we would like to recommend.Read More ›

ALA Announces Newbery, Caldecott, King, Printz Winners 2017

The American Library Association announced the winners of their many Youth Media Awards this weekend at the Midwinter meeting in Atlanta. Read More ›

Hack the Holds Queue: January 2017

Hack the Holds Queue is a new series from Readers Services in which we alert librarians—on the frontlines in libraries across the city—to books getting a lot of attention.Read More ›

Best Books for Kids 2016: 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing

This annual list is a century-old tradition in which The New York Public Library’s book experts select 100 noteworthy children's titles from categories including: picture books, young readers, fiction, graphic novels, folklore & fairy tales, poetry, and nonfiction.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: December 4, 2016

'Tis the season for suspense: bounty hunters, the Army, the F.B.I., the C.I.A., forensics, and judicial corruption. Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: November 6, 2016

Wanting more gritty or intricately plotted suspense, more mysteries told from multiple perspectives, or more stories about families? We have some read alikes for you.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: Book Club Books

We asked our book expert staff what books have worked well in the book clubs they host in library branches across the city. Read More ›

7 Books That Will Haunt You Like a Ghost

A list of seven books that will haunt you long after you finish the last line.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: October 16, 2016

If you read and enjoyed any of these bestselling titles, or you are waiting in queue, here are a few read alikes. There is never a reason to leave a library empty handed. Read More ›

Books Written at the New York Public Library

The New York Public Library's iconic Rose Main Reading Room at the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building reopened today after a two-year closure for repairs and restorations. Since its opening in 1911, the Reading Room has served as a valuable resource for researchers, scholars, and writers. In honor of this morning's Reading Room reopening, we look at some of the books whose authors have acknowledged writing or researching at the Schwarzman Building over the years. Read More ›

Books for Fans of Law & Order

Here are a few colorful detectives and crime/thriller/mystery series from NYPL staff for all you crime drama fans. Read More ›

New York Times Bestseller Read Alikes: September 25, 2016

Three new titles enter the top five this week! If you are among the masses who read and enjoyed these bestsellers and are left wanting more, here are a few suggestions. Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: September 18, 2016

If you are among the many readers who read one of The New York Times top five fiction titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, we have some suggestions for you.Read More ›

Books for Boys Who Think Books are Boring

An interview, a book list, and a discussion of author Jason ReynoldsRead More ›

NYPL Recommends: New YA

Our Best Books for Teens committee has been busy reading and reviewing 2016 titles. Below are a few of their favorite new comics and graphic novels.Read More ›

A Salute to Goodnight Moon

Here are five more bedtime books that capture winding down, getting those little eyes to close and little ones to drift off to sleep.Read More ›

Books for Fans of Adventure Time and Steven Universe

There are many other books in this vein featuring magic, adventure, and a style that will appeal to fans.Read More ›
Page 1 of 11 Next

Chat with a librarian now