NYPL Blog

Not sure what to read next? Explore expert-curated lists filled with must-read books across all genres. Or take a deep dive into The New York Public Library's research collections with posts written by our librarians, curators, and staff. And discover the diverse array of programs, resources, services, and materials offered by NYPL.

Explore By:

  • 50 All-Time Favorite Romance Books

    By Anne Rouyer, Supervising Young Adult Librarian | February 11, 2022
    Mulberry Street Library
    Classics, contemporary, LGBTQ, historicals, sci-fi/fantasy, thrillers—these books still have the power to make us smile or catch our breath.
  • Meet the Artist: Yuko K., SoHo 2020 Exhibit

    By Sherri Machlin, Adult Librarian | January 27, 2022

    The Mulberry Street Library's exhibition by artist Yuko K. of photographs of graffiti created in response to the murder of George Floyd.

  • Cookie Lit 2021: A Baking + Literature Mashup

    December 4 is National Cookie Day—the perfect time to enjoy another selection of literary-inspired cookies!

  • Books to Celebrate LGBTQ+ History Month

    By Alex Kohn, Library Information Assistant | October 27, 2021

    These titles, for all ages, showcase how fascinating and colorful LGBTQ+ history is.

  • 12 Great LGBTQ YA Books You Haven't Read Yet

    By Alex Kohn, Library Information Assistant | June 28, 2021
    There's no better time than Pride Month to discover a new favorite book!
  • 12 Classic LGBTQ Titles for YA Readers

    By Alex Kohn, Library Information Assistant | June 22, 2021
    Every year I wait for June so I can talk about these classic LGBT YA books, but you can enjoy them any time of the year.
  • Recent Books That Reflect Diverse Womens' Experiences For Kids, Teens, & Adults

    By Sherri Machlin, Adult Librarian | April 29, 2021

    Women's History Month has come and gone, but the staff of Mulberry Street Branch are keeping the vibe going with this booklist.

  • NYPL’s Mabel Williams: Giving Teens a Voice

    By Anne Rouyer, Supervising Young Adult Librarian | March 8, 2021

    Mabel Williams's groundbreaking work of focusing library services on teens culminated with this list of books.

  • Love is Strange: A Reading List for an Uncommon Valentine’s Day

    By Denise Jarrott, Library Information Assistant | February 11, 2021

    These books might not bring a new love to your doorstep, but maybe they will reveal the love that might already exist in your life.

  • 30+ Bridgerton Readalikes to Steam Up All Your Nights

    By Anne Rouyer, Supervising Young Adult Librarian | January 4, 2021
    Don't be discouraged if you're in a holds queue for one of the Bridgerton books—here are dozens of similar books to try while you wait.