Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File

New York Times Read Alikes: November 6, 2016

Share

Preview this post in our new blog design

Wanting more gritty or intricately plotted suspense, more mysteries told from multiple perspectives, or more stories about families? We have some read alikes for you.

Escape Clause
#1 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Escape Clause by John Sandford, more suspense set in Minnesota:

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
 
American Boy by Larry Watson
 
The Life We Bury by Allen Eskens
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Girl on the Train
#2 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, more stories told from multiple perspectives:
 

And Then There Was One by Patricia Gussin

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Fates & Furies by Lauren Groff

 
 
 
 
The Obsidian Chamber
#3 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed The Obsidian Chamber by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, more intricately plotted suspense:
 

The Passage by Justin Cronin

A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle
 
Cold Cold Heart by Tami Hoag
 
 

 

 

Two By Two

#4 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Two By Two by Nicholas Sparks, more sweet stories about fathers and daughters:

What We Find by Robyn Carr

Fast Track by Julie Garwood

Father's Day by Simon Van Booy

 
 
 
 
 
Small Great Things
#5 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Small Great Things  by Jodi Picoult, more thoughtful novels involving families and race:
 

The Women of Brewster Place by Gloria Naylor

Midwives by Chris Bohjalian

Run by Ann Patchett

 

 

 

Have trouble reading standard print? Many of these titles are available in formats for patrons with print disabilities.

Staff picks are chosen by NYPL staff members and are not intended to be comprehensive lists. We'd love to hear your ideas too, so leave a comment and tell us what you’d recommend. And check out our Staff Picks browse tool for more recommendations!

Comments

Patron-generated content represents the views and interpretations of the patron, not necessarily those of The New York Public Library. For more information see NYPL's Website Terms and Conditions.

Post new comment

Chat with a librarian now