Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File

New York Times Read Alikes: October 16, 2016

Share

Preview this post in our new blog design

The Girl on the Train is back in the #1 spot again this week. Does its popularity stem from moviegoers who now want to read the book, or is it an audience reading the book before seeing the movie? It doesn't seem to matter either way for Paula Hawkins.

A couple of thrillers, a romance, and a new fictional curmudgeon round out the top five this week. If you read and enjoyed any of these bestselling titles, or you are waiting in queue, here are a few read alikes. There is never a reason to leave a library empty-handed. 

The Girl on the Train

#1 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, more stories told from multiple perspectives:

And Then There Was One by Patricia Gussin

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Fates & Furies by Lauren Groff

 

 

 

Home

#2 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Home by Harlan Coben, more mysteries featuring amateur detectives:

The Monkey's Raincoat by Robert Crais

New York Dead by Stuart Woods

The Amazing Harvey by Don Passman

 

 

 

Possession

#3 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Possession by Helen Hardt, more contemporary romances check out these authors:

Nora Roberts

Debbie Macomber

Jude Deveraux

 

 

 

Woman of God

#4 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Woman of God by James Patterson and Maxine Paetro, more stories set in Africa:

White Dog Fell From the Sky by Eleanor Lincoln Morse

What Is the What: The Autobiography of Valentino Achak Deng by Dave Eggers

In the Country of Men by Hisham Matar

 

 

 

A Man Called Ove

#5 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed A Man Called Ove  by Fredrik Backman, more curmudgeon characters in literature:

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

Florence Gordon by Brian Morton

 

 

 

Have trouble reading standard print? Many of these titles are available in formats for patrons with print disabilities.

Staff picks are chosen by NYPL staff members and are not intended to be comprehensive lists. We'd love to hear your ideas too, so leave a comment and tell us what you’d recommend. And check out our Staff Picks browse tool for more recommendations!

Comments

Patron-generated content represents the views and interpretations of the patron, not necessarily those of The New York Public Library. For more information see NYPL's Website Terms and Conditions.

Post new comment

Chat with a librarian now