Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File

New York Times Read Alikes: August 21, 2016

Share

Cozy small towns, private investigators, girls on trains... this week's list has a bit of everything, including a new J Patt thriller debuting in the No. 1 spot.

bullseye

#1 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Bullseye by James Patterson and Michael Ledwidge, more thriller series set in New York City:

The John Corey novels by Nelson DeMille, starting with Plum Island

The Stone Barrington novels by Stuart Woods, starting with New York Dead

The NYPL Red series by James Patterson and Marshall Karp, starting with NYPL Red

 

 

 

sweet tomorrows

#2 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Sweet Tomorrows by Debbie Macomber, more cozy small-town stories:

A Home by the Sea by Christina Skye

Second Chance Summer by Jill Shalvis

All You Need Is Love by Marie Force

 

 

 

girl on the train

#3 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, more stories told from multiple perspectives:

And Then There Was One by Patricia Gussin

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Fates & Furies by Lauren Groff

 

 

 

truly madly

#4 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty, more tales of marriage and friendship:

The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas

Another Night, Another Day by Sarah Rayner

The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud

 

 

 

smooth operator

#5 Recommendations for readers who enjoyed Smooth Operator by Stuart Woods and Parnell Hall, more mysteries about private investigators:

A Time of Torment by John Connolly

Rise the Dark by Michael Koryta

The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith

 

 

 

Check out last week's readalikes here.

---

Have trouble reading standard print? Many of these titles are available in formats for patrons with print disabilities.

Staff picks are chosen by NYPL staff members and are not intended to be comprehensive lists. We'd love to hear your ideas too, so leave a comment and tell us what you’d recommend. And check out our Staff Picks browse tool for more recommendations!

Comments

Patron-generated content represents the views and interpretations of the patron, not necessarily those of The New York Public Library. For more information see NYPL's Website Terms and Conditions.

Post new comment