Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

What to Read While You're Waiting for 'The Girl on the Train' Movie

Share

Girl on the Train

The Girl on the Train movie, starring Emily Blunt and based on the bestselling novel has begun filming and is slated to be released October 7, 2016. As that is still a ways away, here are some novel releases to tide you over. Just make sure that you read the right Girl on the Train book while you're waiting .

After the Crash by Michel Bussi (Publication Date: January 5, 2016)
An Airbus plane flies into the Swiss Alps, and one miracle baby girl survives. Two families step forward to claim the baby, but who is she really? This novel is French author's Bussi's first to be translated into English and it unfurls differently than a typical thriller.

The Ex by Alafair Burke
A missed connections ad reunion mysteriously takes place at the same time as a shooting. Is the author who placed the ad involved?

The Drowned Boy by Karin Fossum
The body of a  boy with Down's Syndrome is found in a nearby pond. Similar to TGOTT in that the reader observes the boy's parents as the story unfolds but it is unclear as to what exactly transpired.

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware
"In the tradition of Paula Hawkins's instant New York Times bestseller The Girl On the Train and S. J. Watson's riveting national sensation Before I Go To Sleep, this gripping literary debut from UK novelist Ruth Ware will leave you on the edge of your seat through the very last page."

The Wild Inside: A Novel of Suspense by Christine Carbo
Set in Montana's Glacier National Park, the setting is about as far away from NYC as you could get. This is a well-built mystery novel with a sympathetic protagonist, unlike the characters in TGOTT.

Collected Fiction by Leena Krohn
Selected along with TGOTT as one of the A.V. Club's Best Books of the Year

Comments

Patron-generated content represents the views and interpretations of the patron, not necessarily those of The New York Public Library. For more information see NYPL's Website Terms and Conditions.

Post new comment