Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File, LGBT@NYPL, Stuff for the Teen Age

New LGBTQ Picks for Teens

Share

NYC Pride is almost here, and we're celebrating with a new crop of books for young members of the LGBTQ community.

LGBTQ display at 67th Street
LGBTQ display at 67th Street

Here are some great new releases for perfect Pride reading. (And when you’re done, check out this great roundup of transgender books for teens from Mulberry Street’s Anne Rouyer.)

Playing a Part by Daria Wilke
Translated from Russian, this story about a Moscow teen trying to understand his sexuality drew media attention and questions about whether it violated the country’s anti-gay laws restricting the distribution of LGBTQ material.

Promposal by Rhonda Helms
Love triangles abound in this lighthearted (but Very Important) tale of prom plans gone haywire. 

Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan
Leila—funny, sarcastic, and Iranian-American—already feels like an outsider at her elite school. When intriguing, glamorous Saskia enrolls, it's time for Leila to admit that she likes girls and figure out what to do about it.

Hold Me Closer by David Levithan
Fans of Will Grayson, Will Grayson finally get to hear directly from that book’s most interesting character, Tiny Cooper. (And this book includes a full script of Tiny’s autobiographical musical!)

Lies My Girlfriend Told Me by Julie Anne Peters
After her girlfriend dies suddenly, Alix must unravel the confusing legacy (and other girlfriends?) that Swanee left behind.

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson
A teen devastated by the death of his family hides out in a hospital, biding time until he meets another patient who was tortured for being gay.

Staff picks are chosen by NYPL staff members and are not intended to be comprehensive lists. We'd love to hear your picks! Leave a comment and tell us what you’d recommend.

Comments

Patron-generated content represents the views and interpretations of the patron, not necessarily those of The New York Public Library. For more information see NYPL's Website Terms and Conditions.

"Wildthorn"

Thank you for this list! I think that "Wildthorn" by Jane Eagland is an excellent read for anyone interested in young adult novels that have LGBTQ content. It was published in 2010, so it's not exactly "new". Nonetheless, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

YES!

Love this list, its often hard to find stories about LGBT folks where we are portrayed as normal people, love this and definitely reading it this summer! Thanks NYPL!

Picture

Thank you so much for using our photo!! Great recommendations! Follow 67th Street Library: IG: @67stNYPL Twitter: @67thstLibrary Facebook: 67thstreetLibrary

Post new comment