Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Supporters, News: What Are You Searching For?

November 2, 2009

Viewing videos on requires Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher.

Get the Flash plugin from


Copy the embed code below to add this video to your site, blog, or profile.

What Are You Searching For?, produced by Big Chief Entertainment, profiles the winners of the 2009 Library Lions awards: Julia Chang, Hilary Knight, Janice Moore-Smith, Annie Prolux, and David Smith.

Library Lions is The New York Public Library’s most important annual event and one of the most anticipated dinners on New York City’s social calendar. Each year Library Lions honors several distinguished individuals who have made significant cultural and educational achievements to increase our understanding of the world around us. Honorees have included such eminent figures as Renée Fleming, John Hope Franklin, Orhan Pamuk, David Remnick, Martin Scorsese, Tom Stoppard, Elie Wiesel, and Oprah Winfrey.

This year—at a time when Library usage has skyrocketed—we are expanding on our Library Lions tradition. Along with the noted luminaries we are recognizing tonight—Annie Proulx, Pulitzer Prize–winning author of The Shipping News and "Brokeback Mountain" and Hilary Knight, beloved illustrator of the Eloise children's books—we are honoring three members of the Library’s extraordinary staff, heroes on the front lines who make a difference in the everyday lives of New Yorkers.

This brilliant, black tie gala attracts a high-profile crowd of more than 600 writers, celebrities, and government and corporate leaders, generating a great deal of press coverage in periodicals such as Vogue, Vanity Fair, The New York Times, The New York Sun, New York Magazine, and the International Herald Tribune.

The 2009 Library Lions Chairmen are Mr. Roger Altman and Ms. Jurate Kazickas; Mr. and Mrs. Oscar de la Renta; Mr. and Mrs. John B. Hess; Mr. and Mrs. John Paulson; Mr. and Mrs. Felix Rohatyn; Mr. and Mrs. Stephen A. Schwarzman; and The Honorable Merryl H. Tisch and Mr. James S. Tisch.