Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Supporters: Library Lions 2010

November 1, 2010

Viewing videos on requires Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher.

Get the Flash plugin from


Copy the embed code below to add this video to your site, blog, or profile.

Library Lions is The New York Public Library’s most important annual event and one of the most anticipated dinners on New York City’s social calendar. Each year Library Lions honors several distinguished individuals who have made significant cultural and educational achievements to increase our understanding of the world around us. Honorees have included such eminent figures as Renée Fleming, John Hope Franklin, Orhan Pamuk, David Remnick, Martin Scorsese, Tom Stoppard, Elie Wiesel, and Oprah Winfrey.

The 2010 honorees are five distinguished individuals recognized for excellence in their respective fields of arts, letters, and scholarship-including award-winning author Malcolm Gladwell, celebrated actor and screenwriter Ethan Hawke, noted scholar and widely acclaimed leader of The New York Public Library Paul LeClerc, beloved writer and entertainer Steve Martin, and internationally renowned novelist Zadie Smith.

The 2010 Library Lions Chairmen are Mr. and Mrs. Christopher Davis; Mr. and Mrs. Oscar de la Renta; H.R.H. Princess Firyal of Jordan, Mr. and Mrs. John B. Hess; Mr. and Mrs. John Paulson; Mr. and Mrs. Felix Rohatyn; Mr. and Mrs. Stephen A. Schwarzman; and Mr. James S. Tisch and The Honorable Merryl H. Tisch.