Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism 2014

May 28, 2014

Viewing videos on requires Adobe Flash Player 9 or higher.

Get the Flash plugin from


Copy the embed code below to add this video to your site, blog, or profile.

Renowned journalist and Pulitzer Prize winner Dan Fagin received The New York Public Library’s 2014 Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism at a ceremony at the Library’s landmark building on May 28, 2014..

Fagin, a former staff writer for Newsday and a science journalism professor at New York University, won the prestigious award for his groundbreaking work Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation, which investigates childhood cancer clusters caused by toxic dumping and industrial pollution in a New Jersey town, and has already won the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for general nonfiction.  

Uncovering the Truth: Long-form Journalism in the Age of Twitter -  On the eve of the award ceremony, finalists Dan Fagin, Sheri Fink, David Finkel, Fred Kaplan and Jonathan Katz discussed their work with James Hoge, former editor of Foreign Affairs, in a free, public program at the Library.  Listen, Photos

Read more:  2014 Bernstein Award, press release 

About the Award

Since 1988 the annual award, which includes a $15,000 cash prize, has been given to journalists whose books have brought clarity and public attention to important issues, events, or policies. Previous winners of the award include Ellen E. Schultz, Shane Harris, David Finkel, Jane Mayer, Lawrence Wright. Katherine Boo won in 2013 for her bookBehind the Beautiful Forevers -  watch the award event on BOOK TV, Press Release 

The Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism was established through a gift from Joseph Frank Bernstein, in honor of journalist Helen Bernstein (now Helen Bernstein Fealy).