Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Stuff for the Teen Age

Share

The best in teen books and media. See our Best Books for Teens of 2014!

For 80 years, New York Public Library staff shared the best titles for teens in an annual list called Books for the Teen Age. In 2009, Books for the Teen Age became Stuff for the Teen Age, a multimedia, multi-format, targeted, and teen-tested list of the best of the year in teen books, music, graphic novels, movies, games, and more.

In 2010, Stuff for the Teen Age became a blog. We post lists, recommendations, and variety of other topics related to teen books and media.

10 New YA Romances That Will Give You Feels

I've rated the following books by the amount of swooning involved and the magnitude of life lessons.Read More ›

So You've Read "Paper Towns," Now What?

Here are other books filled with friends, road trips, elusive and mysterious dream girls (and dream boys) who force us out of our comfort zones and universal truths about life, love and living in the moment.Read More ›

Trapped! A Booklist For Teens

Imagine being trapped somewhere with little to no chance for escape. Maybe you can’t get out of your school during an intense snowstorm. Maybe you’re locked inside a windowless room. Maybe you’re trapped in a coffin. Maybe you’re stuck in what FEELS like a coffin, but you can’t tell because it’s so dark that you can’t see anything. You can only hear the sound of someone walking back and forth somewhere above you… someone who’s been waiting for you to wake up. Read More ›

Soak Up the Sun with Award-Winning Nonfiction!

Why not use the summer to catch up on some Award-Winning Nonfiction?Read More ›

New LGBTQ Picks for Teens

NYC Pride is almost here, and we're celebrating with a new crop of books for young members of the LGBTQ community.Read More ›

Transgender Books for Teens

Teen literature spends a good proportion of its existence taking on tough topics, shedding light on what it means to be different and how we strive to become our most authentic selves. So it should come as a surprise to no one that teen lit has been showcasing the courageous, true and fictional, stories of transgender teens, teens struggling with gender identity and teens dealing with transgender friends and family members for years. Read More ›

Teen Summer Reading: Our Favorite (and Future Favorite) Titles!

During our last Teen Advisory Group meetings, we looked over the books on the 2015 teen summer reading lists for middle school and high school students. Then we discussed which ones we liked the best and which ones we were looking forward to reading. Check out the titles we picked, and see if you agree with us!Read More ›

We Need Diverse Books at BookCon 2015

The goal of We Need Diverse Books is for diversity to become the norm by promoting "literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people." During the BookCon panel it was noted that the literary world should reflect the diversity in the world.Read More ›

Eight of My Favorite Female Characters in YA Fantasy

Find your favorite female character with this list of great leading ladies.Read More ›

Eight YA Retellings of Red Riding Hood

Little Red Riding is the story of a girl and a big bad wolf in the woods. Here are some retellings of the classic tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

Fantasy of Power and Betrayal: "Game of Thrones" Readalikes for Teens

A recent trend in YA Lit is the fantasy sub-genre: court and political intrigue fantasy. It’s full of all the stuff that makes for great high stakes drama: power, family, politics, love, betrayal, swords, treachery, corruption, duplicity, vengeance, manipulation, secrets, nefarious plots, fighting, revenge, occasionally some dragons and usually, a good healthy dose of flirtation and swoon. Read More ›

Thursdays at M'berg: Teen Programs at Muhlenberg

You spoke and we listened! Thank you for taking the time to complete the surveys and give your feedback. Join us each Thursday for TEENS ONLY programs.Read More ›

Ten YA Retellings of Rapunzel

Rapunzel is a german fairy tale about a beautiful young maiden who has been impriosoned in a tower by an evil witch. Here are several retellings of the fairy tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›

How did YA Become YA?

“Why is it called YA anyway? And who decided what was YA and what wasn’t?” The short answer: librarians.Read More ›

#WeNeedDiverseBooks: A Few of Our Favorites

If I told you that we had diverse books at the library, what kinds of books do you think I mean? Would they have multicultural characters from different parts of the world? Who speak different languages? Who have different sexual orientations? Who have disabilities? YES to any or all of the above!Read More ›

Kingsbridge Teens Are Reading, Watching, and Enjoying…

Members of our Teen Advisory Group have been reviewing lots of books and movies this year! Here are some highlights of the reviews we've been sharing in our Teen Review Tuesday posts on Tumblr:Read More ›

NYC Teen Author Festival, March 2015

This two-day event is a terrific forum for allowing new authors to present about their work. Many authors, teachers, librarians and teens attend this event.Read More ›

My Spring Break Reading List

Lilian at Hamilton Grange shares her plan for a relaxing and book-filled spring break.Read More ›

Get to Know Jason Reynolds

On March 19, the Bronx Library Center had the honor to host Jason Reynolds. Jason is the winner of the John Steptoe Award for his book, When I Was the Greatest, and author of the critically acclaimed The Boy In the Black Suit. I had the opportunity to interview Jason after his event and learn about his writing style, fashion sensibility, and more.Read More ›

Ten YA Retellings of Snow White

You know that romantic tale of a young woman who runs away to the woods to escape a wicked Queen. Here are several retellings of the fairy tale that appeal to modern day teens.Read More ›
Page 1 of 19 Next