Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File

Share

Your one-stop shop for blog posts across the Library about books, reading and literature. Subscribe to RSS Feed.

#FridayReads Roundup: For Fans of Fargo, Funny Pictures, Judging a Book By Its Cover, and A Celebrity Guest Star

Join us from 10-11 AM EDT for live reading recommendations on Twitter @NYPLRecommends!Read More ›

May 2016 International Fiction Bestsellers

A satirical Swedish novel, a favorite Sicilian detective, and teen dystopian romance top the bestseller lists in Germany, Italy, and Brazil. Novels by native authors are popular in Argentina and Russia, and everyone loves Jojo Moyes!Read More ›

Boarding-School Book Bonanza

Close quarters, no parental supervision, lots of teens, too-strict rules or no rules at all…no doubt, boarding schools are fertile ground for stories about burgeoning relationships and finding identity.Read More ›

Ask the Author: William Finnegan

William Finnegan comes to Books at Noon this week to discuss his latest work, Barbarian Days: A Surfing Life. Read More ›

Dame Margaret Comes to Town: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 13

Margaret H. Willison, a.k.a. The Coolest Funniest Pop-Culture-iest Librarian Ever, joins Gwen and Frank this week for the ultimate high/low-culture episode.Read More ›

Judging a Book by Its Title

Conventional wisdom aside, let’s be real: A lot of us decide whether we’re interested in reading a particular book by judging its cover—and its title, too.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: May 23, 2016

Here are some read alikes for the top five bestselling fiction titles this week. Read More ›

Barnacles, Bugs, and Big Scary Teeth: Funny New Picture Books

This spring's newly published crop of picture books includes some laugh-out-loud funny installments.Read More ›

Ask the Author: Leanne Shapton

Leanne Shapton comes to Books at Noon this week to discuss her latest work, Swimming Studies.Read More ›

#FridayReads Roundup: Superheroes and Silicon Valley

What we're reading this week.Read More ›

Women Made Women Superheroes

Superheroes are all over the media these days. There is the Marvel series on Netflix. Captain America: Civil War, Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice, and X-Men Apocalypse are all competing for ticket sales in movie theaters across America. On TV, viewers can followThe Flash (CW), The Arrow (CW), and Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D (ABC).Read More ›

For Fans of HBO's Silicon Valley

For fans of HBO’s Silicon Valley, here are a few books that will satisfy the urge for social commentary and satire aimed at start-ups, social media, and tech culture in general.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: May 22, 2016

Several titles from the thriller, suspense, and mystery categories are in the top five this week.Read More ›

#FridayRead Roundup: Seed Your Bookshelf to Trap a Librarian Friend, Literary Limericks, Uprisings, and New MG and YA Fiction

Join us from 10-11 AM EDT for live reading recommendations on Twitter @NYPLRecommends!Read More ›

No Capes! Undercover Superheroes

Caped crusaders are having a moment right now—but what about the heroes who don’t wear costumes and leap tall buildings in a single bound? The protagonists in these picture books save the day in less-expected but still-important ways.Read More ›

Closer to Fine: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 12

Along with Susen Shi from Mid-Manhattan Library, Frank and Gwen reveal their librarianship origin stories.Read More ›

Can You Ace Our Literary Limerick Quiz?

We asked our NYPL book experts to—you guessed it—write some book-related limericks. We even asked their friends and families to play along.Read More ›

Readathon Reading Suggestions

Join The New York Public Library and your fellow readers across the country for the second annual National Readathon Day on May 21.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New YA Fiction

2016 is serving up a feast of new YA fiction. Browse titles NYPL staff recommend.Read More ›

Want To Be Friends with a Librarian? Read These Books.

We asked our NYPL staff to name a book that, upon seeing it on someone's shelf​, makes you think you've found a kindred spirit.Read More ›
Previous Page 3 of 42 Next

Chat with a librarian now