Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Biblio File

Share

Your one-stop shop for blog posts across the Library about books, reading and literature. Subscribe to RSS Feed.

New York Times Read Alikes: June 19, 2016

If you are among the many readers who read one of these five titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, here are some suggestions for you.Read More ›

Read It and Eat: Literary Food Pairings

We asked our book experts to pair a book they love with a something to eat. We hope you find something delicious.Read More ›

#FridayReads Roundup: Children's Books for Pride Month & Artful Science Writing

Wondering what our Readers Services librarians did this week? Wonder no longer.Read More ›

Summer Staff Picks Are Here!

Every few months, our NYPL book experts bring you 100 books we love—culled from the millions upon millions out in the world—via our interactive Staff Picks browse tool. For this month's highlight, we picked Kwame Alexander's Booked.Read More ›

Take Me Back to Manhattan: The Librarian Is In Podcast, Ep. 14

Frank and Gwen keep it local this week, from a fashion show at Jefferson Market and Open Book Night with Mid-Manhattan's Elizabeth Waters, to a great read about the city's Chintz Age and a karaoke trip around Broadway.Read More ›

For fans of The Gene: An Intimate History

For fans of The Gene, discover seven more recent examples of artful science writing.Read More ›

LGBTQ Books for the Youngest Readers

It’s never too early to read children books that speak to equality.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: June 12, 2016

If you are among the many readers who read one of these five titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, here are some suggestions for you.Read More ›

Six Louise Erdrich Books You Should Check Out

Over the course of her four decades as a writer, Erdrich has entranced critics and readers alike with her expert, compassionate portraits of Native American life.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New YA Comics & Graphic Novels

Our Best Books for Teens committee has been busy reading and reviewing 2016 titles. Here are a few of their favorite new comics and graphic novels.Read More ›

The Natural World: A Reading List from Open Book Night

Books about hiking, evolution, human nature, dogs and cats, city parks and gardens, and classic fiction were among the titles readers recommended at our Open Book Night last month when we suggested the topic “the natural world.”Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New YA Fiction

Who would have imagined a trend in YA literature toward realistic, character-driven, and emotionally intense stories? If that is up your alley, we have some recommendations for you.Read More ›

#FridayReads Roundup: Picture-Book-A-Palooza

Here's what our Readers Services librarians were up to this week.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New Picture Books - The Animal Edition

The members of our Children's Books Committee have been busy reading and reviewing this year's picture books. Here are a few of their favorites featuring animals to teach kids about, well, animals—but also some other important life lessons.Read More ›

NYPL Recommends: New Picture Books

Our children's librarians have been busy reading and reviewing this year's picture books. Check out a few of their favorites.Read More ›

June Author @ the Library Programs at Mid-Manhattan

Strengths and strains of adult-sibling relationships...genetic genealogy, issues of race, slavery reparations and reconciliation...the complex story of the South Street Seaport District...a gritty story of corruption, greed and law enforcement in Brooklyn...the adventures of Sherlock Holmes... Join us this month for one or more of the author talks at Mid-Manhattan.Read More ›

Doubling Down on Angry Birds

When the Angry Birds movie hit theaters, we asked our NYPL recommendation experts to name their favorite books, movies, or TV shows that feature… well, angry birds.Read More ›

New York Times Read Alikes: June 5, 2016

If you are among the many readers who bought and read one of these five titles and want more of the same adventure or romance or thrills, here are some suggestions for you.Read More ›

For Fans of TV Series Fargo

Check out our list of offbeat, character-driven, intricately plotted, suspense novels set in the Midwest.Read More ›

#FridayReads Roundup: For Fans of Fargo, Funny Pictures, Judging a Book By Its Cover, and A Celebrity Guest Star

Join us from 10-11 AM EDT for live reading recommendations on Twitter @NYPLRecommends!Read More ›
Previous Page 2 of 42 Next

Chat with a librarian now