Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

All NYPL locations will close at 3 PM on December 31, 2014 and will be closed on January 1,  2015.

Your Library Needs You!

FREE Afternoon Out-of-School Time Programs at the New York Public Library

Share

 

ENRICHMENT ZONES -- Fun Summer Activities and School-Year Homework Help
FOR: Grades 1–8

WHEN: 2 - 4 afternoons a week

Enrichment Zones offer chil­dren a safe and fun place—staffed with educators who believe children can succeed—to boost their academic success and enjoyment of learning. 

During the school year, Enrichment Zones is an enhanced home­work help program. Tutors provide small group tutoring in core academic areas and help students complete daily homework assignments. Students can enrich their learning in laptop labs with fun software programs, participate in multi-week projects, and attend educational field trips.

LOCATIONS AND CONTACT INFORMATION:

High Bridge Library, 78 West 168th Street (at Woodcrest Avenue), Paul Lee, paullee@nypl.org  (718) 293-7800

Mott Haven -- 321 East 140th Street (at Alexander Avenue), Ebony Woodburn, ebonywoodburn@nypl.org, (718) 665-4878

Bronx Library Center -- 310 E Kingsbridge Rd, Bronx, NY 10458, Cynthia Bouldrick, cynthiabouldrick@nypl.org, (718) 579-4244

Inwood --4790 Broadway (near Dyckman Street), Kristen Rocha, kristenrocha@nypl.org, (212) 942-2445

Seward Park -192 East Broadway (at Jefferson Street), Shiuli Arshad, shuiliarshad@nypl.org, (212) 477-6770

Port Richmond -75 Bennett Street (at Heberton Avenue), Deborah Bennet, deborahbennet@nypl.org, (718) 442-0158

Francis Martin -- 2150 University Avenue, Bronx, NY 10453, Elizabeth Billy, elizabethbilly@nypl.org, (718) 295-5287

Jerome Park—118 Eames Place, Bronx, NY, 10468, Rebecca Darugar, rebeccadarugar@nypl.org, (718) 549-5200

Hunt's Point --877 Southern Boulevard, Bronx, NY, 10459, Lois Kamandulis, loiskamandulis@nypl.org, (718) 617-0338

Baychester -- 2049 Asch Loop North, Bronx, NY, 10475, Chiara Grenaway, chiaragrenaway@nypl.org, (718) 379-6700

West New Brighton --976 Castleton Avenue, Staten Island, NY, 10310, Maram Salem, maramsalem@nypl.org, (718) 442-1416

 

LITERACY LEADERS -- Fun reading activites for Grade 1 and 2

FOR: Grades 1–2 
WHEN: 2 to 3 afternoons a week

Students in grades 1–2 can improve literacy skills with the Library’s new free Literacy Leaders after-school program. Featuring one-on-one tutoring from a trained high school tutor with oversight from experienced teachers, the program reinforces read­ing comprehension skills and develops confidence in young readers. Winter Session for 1st and 2nd Graders begins 2/2/15. Enroll Now!  

Literacy Leaders who are trained high school tutors improve literacy skills for young elementary school children. Beginning readers develop confidence and better reading comprehension skills. We are looking to recruit students in grades 1-2 for the upcoming winter.  Please call to enquire. 

LOCATIONS AND CONTACT INFORMATION:

115th Street – 203 West 115th Street, New York, NY, 10026, Claire Elowitt, claireelowitt@nypl.org, (212)-666-9393

Hamilton Fish – 415 East Houston Street, New York, NY, 10002, Casey Fleming, caseyfleming@nypl.org, (212)-673-2290

Washington Heights -- 1000 St. Nicholas Avenue, New York, NY, 10032, Lisa Goldstein, lisagoldstein@nypl.org, (212)- 923-6054

Mosholu Library – 285 East 205th Street, Bronx, NY, 10467, Abigail Jefferson, abigailjefferson@nypl.orrg, (718)-882-8239

 

 

LITERACY LEADERS -- High School Course and Internship

FOR: Grades 11–12 
WHEN: 2 to 3 afternoons a week, 4–6 p.m.

The Library’s new free Literacy Leaders after-school program offers students in grades 11–12 academic credit for learning how to teach children to become better readers. Plus, teens who complete the training will have the opportunity to apply for a paid intern­ship tutoring first and second graders at an after-school program at the library!

If you like to read, you have something to offer! You can help a young child develop a love of books and become a more confident reader, even if you’ve had trouble learning to read. Some of the best reading tutors are people who struggled with reading them­selves. Help make a difference! Call to enquire about Fall 2015!

LOCATIONS AND CONTACT INFORMATION:

115th Street – 203 West 115th Street, New York, NY, 10026, Clairee Lowitt, claireelowitt@nypl.org, (212)-666-9393

Hamilton Fish – 415 East Houston Street, New York, NY, 10002, Casey Fleming, caseyfleming@nypl.org, (212)-673-2290

Washington Heights --  1000 St. Nicholas Avenue, New York, NY, 10032, Lisa Goldstein, lisagoldstein@nypl.org, (212)- 923-6054

Mosholu Library – 285 East 205th Street, Bronx, NY, 10467, Abigail Jefferson, abigailjefferson@nypl.orrg, (718)-882-8239

 

INNOVATION LABS


FOR: Grades 10 - 12

WHEN: 2 to 3 afternoons a week 4–6 p.m.

Do you have big ideas, curiosity, and creativity? Do you need English Language Arts credits in order to graduate? Then check out Innovation Labs, NYPL’s exciting new free after-school program for grades 10 - 12 in select neighborhood libraries.  Learn to communicate your unique ideas through blogs, videos, podcasts, and more!

LOCATIONS AND CONTACT INFORMATION:

Bronx Library Center, 310 East Kingsbridge Road (at Briggs Avenue), Cynthia Bouldrick, cynthiabouldrick@nypl.org, (718)-579-4244

St. George Library Center, 5 Central Avenue (near Borough Hall), Lisa Avellino, lisaavellino@nypl.org, (718)-442-8560

Columbus Library, 742 10th Avenue (between 50th & 51st Streets), Bridget Mccormick, bridgetmccormick@nypl.org, (212)-586-5098

George Bruce, 518 West 125th Street, New York, NY, 10227, Zach Margolis, zachmargolis@nypl.org, (212)-662-9727

West Farms Library, 2085 Honeywell Avenue, Bronx, NY, 10460, Elizabeth Dukes, elizabethdukes@nypl.org, (718)-367-5376

Westchester Square Library, 2521 Glebe Avenue, Bronx, NY, 10461, Daniel Dillard, danieldillard@nypl.org, (718)-863-0436


Major support for after-school programming is provided by Arthur W. Koenig; the Andreas C. Dracopoulos Family Endowment for Young Audiences; the Mr. and Mrs. Timothy R. Barakett Endowment for Children's and Young Adult Programs and Services; the E.H.A. Foundation Endowment for Literacy Programming; The Pinkerton Foundation; News Corp and an anonymous donor, with additional support from the Estate of Brooke Russell Astor and the Estate of Mary McConnell Bailey. 

Chat with a librarian now