Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

The New York Public Library will be closed from May 23 through May 25 in observance of Memorial Day.

FREE Afternoon Out-of-School Time Programs at the New York Public Library

Share

 

Enrichment Zone | Summer activities and school-year homework help

For grades 1–8

Enrichment Zone offers chil­dren a safe and fun place—staffed with educators who believe children can succeed—to boost their academic success and enjoyment of learning. 

During the school year, Enrichment Zones is an enhanced home­work help program. Tutors provide small group tutoring in core academic areas and help students complete daily homework assignments. Students can enrich their learning in laptop labs with fun software programs, participate in multi-week projects, and attend educational field trips.

For more information, please contact the Education Coordinators at the locations below:

High Bridge Library – Paul Lee, paullee@nypl.org, (347) 933-1320 

Mott Haven Library – Ebony Woodburn, ebonywoodburn@nypl.org, (347) 952-8016

Bronx Library Center – Cynthia Bouldrick, cynthiabouldrick@nypl.org(347) 891-2163

Inwood Library – Kristen Rocha, kristenrocha@nypl.org(347) 933-3420

Seward Park Library – Shiuli Arshad, shiuliarshad@nypl.org(917) 821-4878

Port Richmond Library – Deborah Bennett, deborahbennett@nypl.org, (347) 697-9937

Francis Martin Library – Elizabeth Billy, elizabethbilly@nypl.org, (347) 821-8388

Jerome Park Library – Rebecca Darugar, rebeccadarugar@nypl.org, (347) 277-4839

Hunts Point Library – Leah Jackson, leahjackson@nypl.org, (347) 277-9865

Baychester Library – Chiara Grenaway, chiaragrenaway@nypl.org, (347) 697-9909

West New Brighton Library – Maram Salem, maramsalem@nypl.org, (347) 277-4591

Literacy Leaders | One-on-one reading tutoring

For grades 1–2 

Students in grades 1–2 can improve literacy skills with the Library’s new free Literacy Leaders after-school program. Featuring one-on-one tutoring from a trained high school tutor with oversight from experienced teachers, the program reinforces read­ing comprehension skills and develops confidence in young readers.

Literacy Leaders who are trained high school tutors improve literacy skills for young elementary school children. Beginning readers develop confidence and better reading comprehension skills.

For more information, please contact the Education Coordinators at the locations below:

Washington Heights Library - Lisa Goldstein­, lisagoldstein@nypl.org, (347) 697-9967

115th Street Library - Claire Elowitt­, claireelowitt@nypl.org(347) 697-9911

Hamilton Fish Park Library - Casey Fleming, caseyfleming@nypl.org(347) 891-2463

Mosholu Library - Abigail Jefferson, abigailjefferson@nypl.org,  (347) 277-4413

Literacy Leaders | English elective course and internship

For grades 10–12 

The Library’s new free Literacy Leaders after-school program offers students in grades 11–12 academic credit for learning how to teach children to become better readers. Plus, teens who complete the training will have the opportunity to apply for a paid intern­ship tutoring first and second graders at an after-school program at the library!

If you like to read, you have something to offer! You can help a young child develop a love of books and become a more confident reader, even if you’ve had trouble learning to read. Some of the best reading tutors are people who struggled with reading them­selves. Help make a difference!

For more information, please contact the Education Coordinators at the locations below:

115th Street Library – Claire ELowitt, claireelowitt@nypl.org(347) 697-9911

Hamilton Fish Park Library – Casey Fleming, caseyfleming@nypl.org, (347) 891-2463

Washington Heights Library – Lisa Goldstein, lisagoldstein@nypl.org, (347) 697-9967

Mosholu Library – Abigail Jefferson, abigailjefferson@nypl.orrg, (347) 277-4413

INNOVATION LABS Middle School and High School | Digital projects and problem solving

For grades 6–12

Do you have big ideas, curiosity, and creativity? Do you need English Language Arts credits in order to graduate? Then check out Innovation Labs, NYPL’s exciting new free after-school program in select neighborhood libraries.  Learn to communicate your unique ideas through blogs, videos, podcasts, and more!

For more information, please contact the Education Coordinators at the locations below:

Westchester Square Library - Daniel Dillard, danieldillard@nypl.org, (347) 697-9969

West Farms Library - Beth Dukes, elizabethdukes@nypl.org, (347) 697-9900

George Bruce Library - Zachary Margolis, zacharymargolis@nypl.org(347) 891-1697

Bronx Library Center  Cynthia Bouldrick, cynthiabouldrick@nypl.org(347) 891-2163

Mid-Manhattan Library – Lisa Avellino, lisaavellino@nypl.org, (347)-697-9968

Columbus Library – Bridget Mccormick, bridgetmccormick@nypl.org(347) 934-7168

Major support for after-school programming is provided by Arthur W. Koenig; the Andreas C. Dracopoulos Family Endowment for Young Audiences; the Mr. and Mrs. Timothy R. Barakett Endowment for Children's and Young Adult Programs and Services; the E.H.A. Foundation Endowment for Literacy Programming; The Pinkerton Foundation; News Corp and an anonymous donor, with additional support from the Estate of Brooke Russell Astor and the Estate of Mary McConnell Bailey. 

BridgeUp | Helping students reach their greatest potential

For grades 8–9

Looking to do something after school that is unlike anything you've done before?  Then consider BridgeUp: a new and exciting Out-of-School Time program just for teens! At BridgeUp, you will: 

  1. Connect with other cool teens your age; 
  2. DIscover your passions in life; and, 
  3. Create opportunities for success.

Beginning in the 8th grade, continuing through high school graduation, and into college, BridgeUp is committed to providing each of our Scholars with a customized plan for achieving their dreams.  With unlimited access to cutting edge technology, daily homework help,  activities that spark curiosity, and a team of incredible staff, there is no limit to what teens can achieve with BridgeUp.

For more information, email bridgeup@nypl.org or call 212-592-7572.

The NYPL BridgeUp program has been made possible thanks to the generous support from the Helen Gurley Brown Revocable Trust.

 

Chat with a librarian now