Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Roosevelt Island Library

Community Board

Manhattan Community Board #8 505 Park Avenue
Suite #620
New York, NY 10022
Phone: 212-758-4340
Fax: 212-758-4616
Web site:
District Manager: Latha Thompson

Elected Officials

Council District #5

Ben Kallos (Democrat)
244 East 93rd Street
Suite 1K
New York, NY 10128
Phone: 212-860-1950
Fax: 212-980-1828
Web site:

Congressional District #12

Carolyn B. Maloney (Democrat)
1651 Third Avenue
Suite 311
New York, NY 10128
Phone: 212-860-0606
Fax: 212-860-0704
Web site:

State Assembly District #76

Micah Kellner
1365 First Avenue
New York, NY 10021
Phone: 212-860-4906
Fax: 917-432-2983
Web site:

State Senate District #29

José M. Serrano
157 East 104th Street
(Ground Level)
New York, NY 10029
Web site:

Local Information


114th Precinct
34-16 Astoria Boulevard 11105


Engine 260
11-15 37 Avenue
Long Island City, NY 11101

Local Hospitals

Coler Hospital
One Main Street 10044

Goldwater Memorial Hospital
One Main Street 10044

Parks and Playgrounds

Blackwell Park
Northeast of the Subway Station

Manhattan Park
Across from the Motorgate

Lighthouse Park
Northern tip of Roosevelt Island

Octagon Park
North end of Main Street

Post Office

Roosevelt Island Station
694 Main Street 10044

Schools: District 2

P.S./I.S. 217 Roosevelt Island School

Other schools in District 2

Alternative Programs in Manhattan
Charter Schools in Manhattan
Special Education Programs in Manhattan

School and Zone Finder Mapping System


The Child School/Legacy High School (K-12)
587 Main Street 10044

Jewish Schools in Manhattan - The Lookstein Center
Parochial Schools in Manhattan - Archdiocese of New York
Private Schools in Manhattan - New York State Association of Independent Schools


Marymount Manhattan College - Roosevelt Island Extension
507 Main Street 10044

The New York City Charter requires that every ten years, after each decennial census, an independent commission be appointed to redraw Councilmanic District lines to accurately reflect the City's demographics. Each of the 51 Council Districts across the City may increase or decrease in size to accommodate changes in population per the Census.

The Mayor and Council leaders appoint the members of the Districting Commission to take on this task.  The Commission works to redraw lines with the data, process, and criteria required by federal law, the 2010 US Census Bureau data, and the New York City Charter.

Chat with a librarian now

Follow Roosevelt Island Library on: