Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Port Richmond Library

Located two blocks from Port Richmond Avenue along Bennett Street and opposite Veterans Park, the Port Richmond Branch opened its doors in 1905 as one of the branches built with funds from Andrew Carnegie.

Port Richmond, with its fireplaces, oak shelving, and original turn-of-the-century furniture, provides an inviting space to read, study, or enjoy free programs. A major renovation of the Children's Room in 2008 brought new lighting, furniture and computers for children. Programs take place in the Chimes Playhouse, a charming auditorium, which was added in 1939. The Library's collections have grown steadily since 1905 and and now include large Young Adult and Spanish collections. Port Richmond also houses a small collection of materials on the history of Staten Island.  Read a history of the Port Richmond Library.