Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Nomination Guidelines


Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism
Nomination Guidelines for 2016


Only full-length books written by an author or authors whose primary profession is print, broadcast, or electronic journalism are eligible. Among the factors that will be considered in determining the winner will be the significance of the subject, the book's influence on public opinion or policy, and the quality of the reporting and writing. Books must be scheduled for original publication between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2015. Works of fiction, anthologies, biography, memoir, history, collections of columns, or articles are not eligible.

Nominations Deadline

The deadline for nominating titles for the 2016 award is October 1, 2015. Books may be nominated by publishers or agents and must be accompanied by the nomination form (click below). Books submitted by their authors will not be accepted. The Library begins accepting nominations July 1, 2015. Finalists will be announced in April 2016 and the winner in May, 2016.

Submission Process

In addition to the nomination form, please submit the following information and materials by October 1, 2015:

  • ten copies of the book (or bound galley)
  • biographical information about the author
  • available reviews

Please complete the 2016 nomination form to submit all nominations to the Library at:

The New York Public Library
Helen Bernstein Book Award for Journalism
476 Fifth Ave. (Southcourt - 3rd Floor)
New York, NY 10018-2788
Attn: Karen Gisonny

2016 Nomination Form

For questions about submitting work for the Bernstein Award, please contact Karen Gisonny at