Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

Awards Programs


Maher Stern Award

An annual award to an outstanding NYPL Library Manager and his/her staff.

Read More ›

Minerva Award

Honors each year's Valedictorians from New York City public high school graduates (1997-2003).

Read More ›

Young Lions Fiction Award

Established in 2001, The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award is a $10,000 prize awarded each spring to a writer age 35 or younger for a novel or a collection of short stories. Read More ›

Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism

The True American; Murder and Mercy in Texas was one of five finalists selected by an seven-member Library Review Committee, which received and read over 70 nominations from publishers. The winner was chosen by a separate Bernstein Selection Committee, chaired by Jim Hoge, an accomplished journalist and former editor of Foreign Affairs. 

The other finalists were:

Read More ›

Ezra Jack Keats Award

Given jointly with Ezra Jack Keats Foundation to a promising new children's book author.

Read More ›

NYC Neighborhood Library Awards

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation and Charles H. Revson Foundation, in association with WNYC’s Brian Lehrer Show are pleased to announce the 2014 NYC Neighborhood Library Awards. The Awards will honor five local libraries in New York City for providing exceptional service to their communities. Each winning branch will receive $20,000, the largest cash prize awarded directly to branch libraries in the country. 

Nominate your branch at

Read More ›

The Jean M. Campbell Award

This award recognizes an NYPL staff member who during the past year has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to improving public reference service.

Read More ›

Chat with a librarian now