Click to search the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library Skip Navigation

The New York Public Library will be closed on Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 27.

New York State County Histories


Full-text searchable 19th century histories of counties in all of New York state.

Access Locations: Stephen A. Schwarzman Building

Subjects: Genealogy; New York City History

Notes: Part I (Southeast) contains the following counties; Westchester, Queens, Kings, Richmond, Rockland, Putnam, Orange, and Sullivan. Part II (Central) contains the following counties; Columbia, Greene, Delaware, Albany, Schoharie, Otsego, Madison, Chenango, Broome, Cortlandt, Tioga, Tompkins, Chemung, Dutchess and Ulster. Part III contains the following counties and area; Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Northwestern New York, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Schuyler, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates.

Dates of Coverage: Most of these large volumes were published between 1870 and 1900

Update Frequency: Ongoing

Print Equivalent: Print editions of many of the books are held by The New York Public Library. Check the Library Catalog for holdings.

Provider: Accessible Archives

Format: Web

Output Type: Print